Campus Awards

The university administers a number of award programs to recognize and celebrate the achievements of our faculty members who continually push the boundaries of knowledge, explore new possibilities, and enhance the world by their accomplishments.

The Faculty Distinguished Research Award was established in 2013 to recognize those who uphold and build upon Case Western Reserve’s history as an innovative, research-driven institution, and established national and international reputations for their research or creative projects.  


2022 Award Recipients

Arnold Caplan - College of Arts and Sciences

Suchitra Nelson - School of Dental Medicine

Erkki Somersalo - College of Arts and Sciences

Youngjin Yoo - Weatherhead School of Management

2021 Award Recipients

Sharona Hoffman - School of Law

Anant Madabhushi - Case School of Engineering

Daniel Scherson - College of Arts and Sciences

2020 Award Recipients

Roger H. French - Case School of Engineering

Rose Gubitosi-Klug - School of Medicine

Kenneth D. Singer - College of Arts and Sciences

Jaclene A. Zauszniewski - Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing

2019 Award Recipients

Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan - School of Medicine

Gary Galbraith - College of Arts and Sciences

Jonathan L. Haines - School of Medicine

Roger Quinn - Case School of Engineering

Jagdip Singh - Weatherhead School of Management

2018 Award Recipients

Susann M. Brady-Kalnay - School of Medicine

Jonathan Karn - School of Medicine

Walter R.L. Lambrecht - College of Arts and Sciences

Dale A. Nance - School of Law

2017 Award Recipients

Fabio Cominelli - School of Medicine

Mark Griswold - School of Medicine

Ruth A. Keri - School of Medicine

Scott Shane - Weatherhead School of Management

Ted Steinberg - College of Arts and Sciences

2016 Award Recipients

Liming Dai - Case School of Engineering

Melvyn Goldstein - College of Arts and Sciences

Michael Lederman - School of Medicine

Kalle Lyytinen - Weatherhead School of Management

2015 Award Recipients

David Cooperrider – Weatherhead School of Management

B. Jessie Hill – School of Law

Mukesh Jain – School of Medicine

Stuart Rowan – Case School of Engineering

Elisabeth Werner – College of Arts and Sciences

2014 Award Recipients

Dominique Durand- Case School of Engineering

James Kazura – School of Medicine

Peter Ritchken – Weatherhead School of Management

Michael Weiss – School of Medicine

2013 Award Recipients

Hatsuo Ishida – Case School of Engineering

Sanford Markowitz – School of Medicine

Shirley Moore – Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing

Zehra Meral Ozsoyoglu – Case School of Engineering

Krzysztof Palczewski – School of Medicine

Charles Rosenblatt – College of Arts and Sciences 

The Distinguished University Professor is an honorific title awarded to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of full-time, tenured professors with a distinguished academic record of extraordinary research, scholarship, teaching and service.  Learn more.

Current Recipients

Clifford Harding, MD, PhD, professor and chair of the Department of Pathology at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine and University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center, and a world class immunologist and major force in physician-scientist and professional-scientist education.

Clare Rimnac, PhD, is the Wilbert J. Austin Professor of Engineering in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Director of the Center for the Evaluation of Implant Performance at CWRU.

Thrity Umrigar is a celebrated writer with an international following, and an English professor dedicated to her students and her craft. She is the author of a number of bestselling novels including The Space Between Us, If Today Be Sweet, Bombay Time, The Weight of Heaven, and The World We Found.

View past recipients.

The Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize was established in 1994 by Dorothy Humel Hovorka “to recognize exceptional achievement by an active or emeritus member of the faculty.” The Prize is conferred during the annual commencement convocation.  Download a list of winners.

Date Recipient School
2023 Sandra Russ Arts and Sciences
2022 Jenifer Neils Arts and Sciences
2021 Pamela Davis Medicine
2020 Robert Savinell Engineering
2019 Philip Taylor Arts and Sciences
2018 Jane Kessler Arts and Sciences
2017 Jackson Wright Medicine
2016 Eva Kahana Arts and Sciences
2015 Robert C. Elston Medicine
2014 Karn Olness Medicine
2013 Jame M. Andersn Medicine
2012 Melvyn Goldstein Arts and Sciences
2011 John C. Angus Engineering
2010 Robert H. Binstock Medicine, Nursing
2009 P. Hunter Peckham Engineering
2008 Arthur H. Heuer Engineering
2007 Nathan  A. Berger Medicine
2006 Amasa Ford and John Kennell Medicine
2005 Mihajlo Mesarovic Engineering
2004 May Louise Wykle Nursing
2003 Simon Ostrach Engineering
2002 Herman D. Stein Applied Social Sciences
2001 Richard W. Hanson Medicine
2000 Cynthia Beall Arts and Sciences
1999 Arthur G. Steinberg Arts and Sciences
1998 Eric Baer Engineering
1997 David D. Van Tassel Arts and Sciences
1996 Marie Haug Arts and Sciences


Carl F. Wittke Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching - presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching.

J. Bruce Jackson, MD, Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring - recognizes the positive impact Case Western Reserve University faculty and staff have on the lives of students. 

John S. Diekhoff Award for Graduate Teaching and Mentoring - presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University.