Suburban Symphony Orchestra

Text of Suburban Symphony Orchestra

Suburban Symphony Orchestra performs Sunday, May 12, 2019 3:30 p.m.

Ensemble Bio


The Suburban Symphony Orchestra is one of Cleveland’s premiere community orchestras.  Its eighty-plus musicians present five concerts annually. Performances generally take place at Beachwood High School Auditorium.  Concerts draw audiences of 300-500 people. High musical standards and a commitment to presenting the world’s greatest music free of charge make the organization a gem in Cleveland’s sparkling arts community.  This season the Suburban Symphony will be performing under the direction of its new music director, Domenico Boyagian.

Artistic Director
Photo of Suburban Symphony Orchestra's Music Director, Domenico Boyagian

“Boyagian appears to be a conductor for whom the music is the sole point of standing before musicians.” 

-­ The Cleveland Plain Dealer


Maestro DOMENICO BOYAGIAN, Music Director of Cleveland Opera Theater and Suburban Symphony Orchestra, is an “impressive conductor” ( whose impeccable musicality inspires audiences and critics alike. His most recent successes include performances of Mozart, Puccini and Verdi with Cleveland Opera Theater, Florida Grand Opera, Opera North, and the Manhattan School of Music. Recent engagements for the 2017-2018 season included performances of Weill's Threepenny Opera and Puccini's Madama Butterfly in Cleveland, a debut with Opera Delaware, and symphonic concerts. Under his artistic leadership, Cleveland Opera Theater has grown to be the primary destination for opera audiences in Northeast Ohio, what  "Cleveland has endured so long without." (The Plain Dealer). Highlights from previous seasons include Previn’s A Streetcar Named Desire, Puccini’s La Bohème. and La Rondine, and Mozart's The Marriage of Figaro. In 2018 Maestro Boyagian was named Music Director of Suburban Symphony Orchestra. Born and raised in Bologna, Italy, he made Cleveland his home in 2007.

Program Details

Suburban Symphony Orchestra
Conducted by Music Director Domenico Boyagian
Guest Concertmaster, Rachel Stenzel
Guest Soloist, Shuai Wang

Bizet - Carmen Suite No.1
Chopin - Piano Concerto No.1 featuring Pianist Shuai Wang
Ravel/Mussorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition