UG Experience (CUE)

Provost’s Commission on the Undergraduate Experience

The Provost's Commission on the Undergraduate Experience (CUE) was formed in January 2016. This faculty-led effort sought to assess and improve undergraduate education and the residential campus experience.  The work of the CUE was instrumental in establishing the path forward for undergraduate education at CWRU.

CWRU's 2013-2018 Strategic Plan: Think Beyond the Possible called for innovations in teaching, course design, advising and research. Additionally, the plan emphasized engaging and inspiring students, preparing them for global leadership and innovation, and creating knowledge through interdisciplinary initiatives.  Consistent with those strategic priorities, the CUE:

  • Developed and articulated a philosophy and approach for advancing CWRU’s undergraduate experience including SAGES and general education requirements.
  • Explored how CWRU’s residential environment could better support learning and provide a more intellectually vibrant experience for undergraduate students.
  • Engaged with those who will help CWRU understand external perceptions of CWRU’s undergraduate programs and how any changes that may implemented would be perceived.

University leaders communicated with stakeholder groups to invite participation and share updates.  The CUE membership list may be found below. Questions, comments and suggestions may be directed to

View the Final Report

The final pages of the report detail next steps, as well as those responsible for taking them. As part of the transition process from the CUE to regular university governance structures, a small group of CUE members spent the summer of 2018 drafting proposals related to some of the major recommendations; among the groups most involved in this process was the Faculty Senate Committee on Undergraduate Education (FSCUE).

College of Arts and Sciences

  • Kimberly Emmons, Associate Professor of English (Commission Chair)
  • Jerrold Scott, Katharine Bakeless Nason Professor and Chair of Theater
  • Lee Thompson, Professor and Chair of Psychological Sciences
  • Blanton Tolbert, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Case School of Engineering

  • Daniel Lacks, C. Benson Branch Professor of Chemical Engineering
  • Frank Merat, Emeritus Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing

  • Amy Bieda, Assistant Professor in the School of Nursing

Weatherhead School of Management

  • Robin Dubin, Professor and Chair of Economics

School of Medicine

  • Hope Barkoukis, Associate Professor and Interim Chair of Nutrition

Support Areas

  • Richard Bischoff, Vice President for Enrollment Management
  • Lou Stark, Vice President, Student Affairs
  • Molly Watkins, Executive Director of International Affairs
  • Jeffrey Wolcowitz, Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Adjunct Professor of Economics

Student Representation

  • Prince Ghosh, Sophomore, Mechanical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering
  • Garretson Oester, Senior, Economics

Administrative Resources

  • Donald Feke, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and Professor of Chemical Engineering
  • Victoria Wright, Associate Vice President for University Planning and Administration

Fall 2017 CUE Feedback Sessions

Multiple Feedback Sessions were held during the fall of 2017. See a complete list below.  The committee also sought comments via the CUE Feedback Form, and via email to

Thursday, October 19, 2017 Thwing Room 224

  • 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. – Students
  • 1:45 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. – Faculty
  • 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. – Staff/Administration

Friday, October 20, 2017 Thwing Room 224

  • 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. – Open Forum

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 TVUC Senior Classroom B, Room 134

  • 3:00 p.m. to 4:15 p.m.  – Staff/Administration
  • 4:30 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. – Faculty
  • 6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. – Students

Thursday, October 26, 2017 Thwing Room 224

  • 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. – Open Forum

Monday, October 30, 2017 TVUC Room 140

  • 10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. – Staff/Administration
  • 11:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. – Faculty
  • 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. – Students