Hovorka Prize

Dorothy Humel Hovorka

Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize


The Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize is awarded to an active or emeritus member of the Case Western Reserve University faculty in recognition of exceptional achievements in teaching, research, and scholarly service that have benefited the community, the nation, and the world.

Established in 1994 by the late Mrs. Hovorka, a leader in the arts and community affairs and an honorary member of the university’s Board of Trustees, the award honors the late Frank Hovorka, who was, for many years, a distinguished member of the faculty in the Department of Chemistry.

The provost circulates a call to the university community annually for nominations consisting of a two-to three-page letter and the nominee’s CV or other biographical description.  A panel of previous awardees reviews nominations during the spring semester to select the recipient for the award to be presented at commencement.


The provost invites the university community to submit nominations for the Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize.

Nominations submitted by mid-February each year will be considered for award at commencement the following May. To make a submission, please complete and submit the Qualtrics form below and provide

  • a letter of nomination (approximately two or three pages);
  • the nominee’s CV or other biographical description; and
  • the nominator’s name and contact information.

The recipient is selected on the recommendation of a committee consisting of previous awardees.

Submit a Nomination Form


Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize award winners are acknowledged each year during Commencement. Learn more about the most recent winners by visiting the Commencement website

Date Recipient Discipline
2023 Sandra Russ Psychological Sciences
2022 Jenifer Neils Classics
2021 Pamela Davis Medicine
2020 Robert Savinell Chemical Engineering
2019 Philip Taylor Physics
2018 Jane W. Kessler Psychological Sciences
2017 Jackson Wright Medicine
2016 Eva Kahana Sociology
2015 Robert C. Elston Medicine
2014 Karen Olness Medicine
2013 James Anderson Medicine, Macromolecular Science, Biomedical Engineering
2012 Melvyn Goldstein Anthropology
2011 John C. Angus Engineering
2010 Robert Binstock Medicine
2009 Hunter P. Peckham Biomedical Engineering
2008 Arthur H. Heuer Engineering
2007 Nathan A. Berger Medicine
2006 Amasa Ford and John Kennell Medicine
2005 Mesarovic Mihajlo Engineering
2004 May Louise Wykle Nursing
2003 Simon Ostrach Engineering
2002 Herman D. Stein Applied Social Sciences
2001 Richard Hanson Biochemistry
2000 Cynthia Beall Anthropology
1999 Arthur G. Steinberg Biology
1998 Eric Baer Engineering
1997 David D. Van Tessel History
1996 Marie Haug Sociology
1995 Ernest B. Yeager Chemistry
1994 Frederick C. Robbins Medicine