School of Law Dean Search

School of Law from Bellflower

Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) seeks a transformational leader and accomplished scholar to serve as the next Dean of the School of Law. One of the oldest law schools in the nation, the Law School is known for its influential faculty-scholars and robust marketplace of ideas; many top-ranked programs; advanced curricula focused on experiential education; a global and international perspective; and longstanding commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Listening Sessions

The School of Law Dean Search Committee hosted listening sessions via Zoom for each of our campus stakeholder groups to gather input on the experiences and qualities our next dean should possess. The listening session dates are listed below.

School of Law Dean Search: Student listening session
Tues., Feb. 20
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

School of Law Dean Search: Staff listening session
Tues., Feb. 20
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

School of Law Dean Search: Faculty listening session
Wed., Feb. 21
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Search Committee Members


Jessie Hill, Judge Ben C. Green Professor of Law and Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development

Dexter Voisin, Dean, Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences

Committee Members:

Jonathan Adler, Johan Verheij Memorial Professor of Law and Director, Coleman P. Burke Center for Environmental Law

Brent Ballard, Managing Partner Emeritus, Calfee

John Bickers, Jesse Hauk Shera Assistant Professor, Department of History, College of Arts and Sciences

Jaime Bouvier, Associate Professor of Lawyering Skills

Eric Chaffee, Professor, Peter M. Gerhart Distinguished Research Scholar, Director, Graduate Programs in Compliance and Risk Management, Director Risk Management and Financial Integrity Institute and Associate Director, Center for Business Law

Avidan Cover, Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Director, Institute for Global Security Law and Policy, Frederick K. Cox International Law Center

Jennifer Cupar, Professor of Lawyering Skills and Director, Legal Writing, Leadership, Experiential Learning, Advocacy, and Professionalism “LLEAP”

Atiba Ellis, Laura B. Chisholm Distinguished Research Scholar and Professor of Law and Fall 2023 Arthur W.. Fiske Lecturer

Laura McNally, Professor, Associate Dean for Experiential Education and Director, Milton and Charlotte Kramer Law Clinic

Cassandra Robertson, John Deaver Drinko – Baker Hostetler Professor of Law and Director, Center for Professional Ethics

Matthew Salerno, Assistant Professor

Teresa Underwood, Director of HR and Administrative Operations

Jose Mendez Valdez, President, Student Bar Association