MSTP Steering Committee

The Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) Steering Committee consists of distinguished faculty members from the basic sciences as well as clinical departments. The committee meets monthly to oversee program operation, review academic and research performance of MSTP trainees, and evaluate applicants to the program. 

Steering Committee members are also mentors and role models for MSTP students, and are always willing to respond to students' needs or questions.  MSTP students must choose one of the basic science representatives to the Steering Committee to be a member of their PhD thesis committee.  Descriptions of their research can be found on the MSTP Mentors page.  

Committee Member Associated PhD Programs
Drew Adams, PhD Genetics and Genome Sciences
A Bolu Ajiboye, PhD Biomedical Engineering
Heather Broihier, PhD (MSTP Deputy Director) Neurosciences
Dana Crawford, PhD Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Genetics and Genome Sciences
Dominique Durand, PhD Biomedical Engineering, Neurosciences, Physiology and Biophysics

Agata A Exner, PhD (MSTP Associate Director)

Biomedical Engineering, Pathology - Cancer Biology
Robert Fairchild, PhD Pathology - Immunology
Alex Huang, MD, PhD (MSTP Director) Pathology - Cancer Biology
Alan Levine, PhD Molecular Virology, Pathology - Immunology, Pharmacology, Cell Biology
David Lodowski, PhD BSTP representative
Dan Ma, PhD Biomedical Engineering
Kimberly McBennett, MD, PhD (MSTP Clinical Associate Director) Clinical Curriculum
Laura Nagy, PhD Nutrition, Cell Biology, Pathology - Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease
Reshmi Parameswaran, PhD Pathology - Cancer Biology and Immunology
Polyxeni Philippidou, PhD Neurosciences
Andrew Pieper, MD, PhD (MSTP Associate Director) Pathology - Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease, Neurosciences
Xin Qi, PhD Physiology and Biophysics
Arne Rietsch, PhD Molecular Biology and Microbiology
Ashleigh Schaffer, PhD Genetics and Genome Sciences, Pathology - Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease, Systems Biology and Bioinformatics
James Spilsbury, PhD Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Clinical Translational Science
Catherine Stein, PhD Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Systems Biology and Bioinformatics, Clinical and Translational Science
Derek Taylor, PhD Pharmacology, Biochemistry
Paul Tesar, PhD Genetics and Genome Sciences, Neurosciences
David Wald, MD, PhD (MSTP Associate Director) Pathology - Cancer Biology and Immunology
Jennifer Yu, MD, PhD Pathology - Cancer Biology
Sarah Barker Council President and Student Representative
Christian Essman (ex officio) MD Admissions Representative
Tom McKenzie (ex officio) MD Admissions Representative
Diane Dowd, PhD MSTP Director of Administrative Operations