Board of Directors Committees and Goals

photo of current board members at the 2021 Homecoming celebration


The Alumni Association Board of Directors
2023–2024 Committees and Goals


Communications and Development Committee

Chairs: David Jargiello (WRC '82), Chris Partis (WRC '83)

Current Board Members: Jennifer Mendelson (CWR '98) and Carleen Bobrowski (MGT ‘05)

Emeriti Board Members: Nikki DiFilippo (MGT '94), John Massie (CIT '66), Larry Rudawsky (LAW '82), Rob Stalder (CWR '94) 

Alumni Members: Chuck Brandman (CIT ’73) Paritosh J. Satia (MGT ’04)

Staff Liaison: Sara Lyons, Director of Alumni Engagement and Board Operations 

1. Connect with alumni volunteer groups throughout the university 
2. How to improve communication with current students and young alumni.

Engagement Committee

Chairs: Adam Rupe (CWR '08), Christina Shen (NUR’14)

Current Board Members: Nancy Carlson (MGT '93), Masayo Matsumura (MGT '93)

Emeriti Board Members: Mickey Hammad (NUR '73), Steve Simmons (CIT '79; GRS '82, electrical engineering & applied physics; MGT '86) Takeshi Tottori (GRS '82, metallurgy & material science), James Treleaven (CIT '69; GRS '90, management)

Alumni Members: Charlotte Gouveia Neto (MGT ’16), Michael Lalich (CWR '10), Amit Nihalani (WRC ’03), Vin Tangpricha (CWR '92), Christian Wargo (CWR ’13)

Executive Committee Liaison: Nancy Carlson (MGT '93)

Staff Liaison: Sara Lyons, Director of Alumni Engagement and Board Operations

1. Increase outreach and engagement with students and bridge silos (chapters, schools)
2. Increase engagement and leadership among board members 
3. Re-vitalize local and international chapters

Governance Committee

Chairs: Dean Fazekas (SAS '91), Roger Wei (CWR '96)

Current Board Members: Liz McFarlin-Marciak (CWR '10), Michael Smith (CWR '99, MED '03), Past Board Member: Aishwarya Arjunan (CWR ‘10/Immediate Past President) 

Emeriti Board Members: Nancy Fink (WRC ‘73), Paul Marcela (LAW '81), Larry Rudawsky (LAW '82)

Executive Committee Liaison: Srinivas Rao (MGT '99)

Staff Liaison: Bradford Crews (MNO '21), Associate Vice President, Alumni Relations

1. Evaluate and revamp board pipeline nomination process from 2022 
2. Nominate 6 new board members (diversity is key goal)

Oral History Committee

Chair: David AG Johnson Jr. (WRC '73)

Emeriti Board Members: Joy Shefter (FSM '66), James Treleaven (CIT '69; GRS '90, management)

Alumni Member: Zoe (Ruolin) Yang (CWR '18)

Staff Liaison: Angela Carpenter, Engagement and Business Operations Manager

Continue to capture and share the stories of alumni

Recognition Committee

Chairs: Alex Kranz (CWR '88), Carmina Mares (LAW '01, MGT '20)

Current Board Member: Srinivas Rao (MGT '99)

Emeriti Board Members: Jane Daroff (SAS '85), Chris Hook (CWR '03; GRS '04, political science), David AG Johnson Jr. (WRC '73), Jessica Malone (CWR '10), 

Alumni Members: Gary Broadbent (LAW '08, MGT '10), Vera Perkins-Hughes (WRC '76), Nick Zalany (CWR '02)
Executive Committee Liaison: Srinivas Rao (MGT '99)

Staff Liaison: Katie O'Malley, Director of Events, Programs and Reunions

1. Focus on more widespread and intentional recruitment of nominees
2. Highlight the importance/significance of Alumni Association Awards

RISE (Race, Injustice & Social Equality) Committee

Chairs: Donte Gibbs (CWR '10, SAS '12), Arnold Huffman (CWR '93)

Current Board Members: Lloyd Weema (CWR '02)

Emeriti Board Members: Ka-Pi Hoh (CIT '84; GRS '87, '89, macromolecular science), David AG Johnson Jr. (WRC '73), Steve Simmons (CIT '79; GRS '82, electrical engineering & applied physics; MGT '86)

Alumni Members: 14 members of the CWRU community 

Staff Liaison: Katie Kimble, Associate Director of Alumni Affinity Programs 

1. Increase visibility and awareness of the University’s actions addressing justice, equality, diversity, and inclusion.
2. Create pathways for alumni engagement and support of University actions and driving these efforts into our local alumni chapters
3. Foster alumni action in the form of community involvement, student and alumni support (via resources, information, fellowship), and employment opportunities.

If you are interested in joining a committee, please let us know at