Giving Kids Hope

You're invited! Giving Kids Hope: Aug. 12, 2023

This year's Giving Kids Hope event to benefit and celebrate the Research Institute for Children's Health will take place on Saturday, Aug. 12, at a new and beautiful venue, Michaelangelo's Winery.

Sponsorships and individual tickets will be available soon!

Sponsor Giving Kids Hope by July 1!

There are several sponsorship opportunities available to assist with the success of this event. Your financial support will help not only to underwrite the cost of the event but also to facilitate gene discovery, model development, and therapeutic techniques. 

Mitch Drumm, PhD, and The Research Institute for Children's Health

Mitch Drumm

This year, the Research Institute for Children's Health will celebrate its eighth year of biomedical research focusing on improving the treatment of genetic diseases and disorders by supporting research in over 20 different diseases. Although there have been advances in understanding and treating certain genetic-based childhood illnesses, thousands of conditions still lack effective therapies.

Mitch Drumm, PhD is the director and driving force behind the Research Institute for Children's Health. Mitch was recruited to CWRU in 1992 to join the departments of pediatrics and genetics. At that time, 40-plus years of cystic fibrosis research was beginning to bear fruit in the form of the earliest CF-specific drugs, and Mitch was a co-discoverer of the gene that causes CF.

In the early 1990s, his lab was already ahead of the curve and working on strategies to activate the mutant CF protein—which is exactly what today's modern CF drugs do.

Mitch and his collaborators are still on the leading edge of that curve, in search of the next big breakthrough. The institute's unique collaborative model has created a pipeline for researchers and clinicians to simultaneously study diseases while seeking and testing new treatments.

Learn more about the Research Institute for Children's Health.

2023 Giving Kids Hope Awardee: to be named

Previous award winners will also be recognized during the event:

  • Kim Sowinsky (2022)
  • Jim Demuth (2021)
  • The Doris and Floyd Kimble Foundation (2020)
  • Pamela B. Davis, PhD (2019)
  • Boodjeh Family (2018)