John S. Diekhoff Award for Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

The John S. Diekhoff Award is presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University. The award was created in honor of John Diekhoff, who served in several capacities during his tenure. From 1956 to 1970, he served as professor of English, chair of the Department of English, dean of Cleveland College, acting dean of the School of Graduate Studies and vice provost of the university.

In 1978, the university created the award to recognize outstanding contributions to the education of graduate students through advising, mentoring and classroom teaching. Initially, the award was presented to two full-time faculty members who serve as outstanding mentors to graduate students, connect them with experts in their discipline, engage them academically and actively promote their professional development. In 2009, the award was expanded to recognize two full-time faculty members who excel in the teaching of graduate students. The award is sponsored by the Graduate Student Senate and School of Graduate Studies. A committee of graduate and professional students reviews the nominations and recommends the winners. Diekhoff Award recipients are honored at the School of Graduate Studies diploma ceremony.

Learn more about the Diekhoff Awards


Award Recipients

2021, for excellence in teaching: 

Philip A. Cola, PhD, Associate Professor, Weatherhead School of Management 

Andrew Crofton, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy, School of Medicine

2021, for excellence in mentoring: 

Jessica Fox, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Biology, College of Arts and Sciences

Daniel Goldmark, PhD, Professor, Department of Music, College of Arts and Sciences


2020, for excellence in teaching: 

Karen Potter, MFA, Professor and Chair Department of Dance

James Spilsbury, PhD, MPH, Associate Professor, School of Medicine 

2020, for excellence in mentoring: 

Eva Kahana, PhD, Distinguished University Professor, Department of Sociology

Anant Madabhushi, PhD, F. Alex Nason Professor II of Biomedical Engineering


2019, for excellence in teaching:

Brian Gran, JD, PhD, Professor, Sociology and Law 

Maggie Vinter, PhD, Assistant Professor, English 

2019, for excellence in mentoring:

Brian Cobb, PhD, Professor, Pathology and Director, Immunology Training Program 

Elina Gertsman, PhD, Professor, Art History and Art 


2018, for excellence in teaching:

Christopher J. Burant, PhD, Associate Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing

Thomas E. Love, PhD, Professor of Medicine, and Population & Quantitative Health Sciences

2018, for excellence in mentoring:

Eileen P. Anderson-Fye, EdD, Associate Professor of Bioethics

Paul Tesar, PhD, Dr. Donald & Ruth Weber Goodman Professor of Innovative Therapeutics, Associate Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences