Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

The Carl F. Wittke Award was established in 1971 in honor of Carl Wittke, a former faculty member, dean and vice president of Western Reserve University. The Wittke Award is presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching. Wittke Award recipients are honored at the Undergraduate Studies diploma ceremony. 

Learn more about the nomination process for the Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching


2024 Award Recipients


Ramez Islambouli, Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry

Ryan Arvidson, Adjunct Professor, Department of Law


Prior Award Recipients

Rekha R. Srinivasan, PhD, Chemistry Instructor

Jose Olavarria,  Assistant Professor, Weatherhead School of Management




Stephanie Harris, PhD, Associate Professor

Dave Lucas, PhD, Full-time Lecturer in English, SAGES Fellow

Cyrus Taylor, PhD, Albert A. Michelson Professor in Physics, College of Arts and Sciences

Anthony Wexler, PhD, Lecturer of English and SAGES Teaching Fellow

Diana Driscoll, PhD, Instructor, Department of Physics 

Larry Sears, Lecturer, Sears think[box] 

Harold Connamacher, PhD, Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science 

Jenny Hawkins, PhD, Assistant Professor, Economics 

Lauren Calandruccio, Associate Professor, Department of Psychological Sciences

Robert Spadoni, Armington Professor, Department of English