John S. Diekhoff Award

four diekhoff winners and four committee members

For Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

The John S. Diekhoff Award is presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University. The award was created in honor of John Diekhoff, who served in several capacities during his tenure here. From 1956 to 1970, he served as professor of English, chair of the Department of English, dean of Cleveland College, acting dean of the School of Graduate Studies and vice provost of the university.

In 1978, the university created the award to recognize outstanding contributions to the education of graduate students through advising, mentoring, and classroom teaching. Initially, the award was presented to full-time faculty members who serve as outstanding teachers to graduate students, connect them with experts in their discipline, engage them academically, and actively promote their professional development. In 2009, the award was expanded to recognize full-time faculty members who excel in the mentoring of graduate students. Up to four winners will be chosen annually for excellence in teaching and/or mentoring. 

The award is sponsored by the School of Graduate Studies. A committee of graduate students reviews the nominations and recommends the winners.

Review the criteria for nominating faculty. Submit your nomination now through Sunday, January 21, 2024.

Congratulations to Our 2023 Winners

photo of professor coburn holding Diekhoff certificate
Karla Coburn - Anatomy

Read The Daily for more on Professor Coburn's passion for teaching and her goal to offer the best learning experience to her students. 

photo of professor mears holding Diekhoff certificate
Jason Mears - Pharmacology

Read The Daily about how Professor Mears creates a learning environment in which each student can thrive based on where they are in their scientific, academic and personal development.

photo of professor pieper holding Diekhoff certificate
Andrew Pieper - Psychiatry

Read The Daily to find out more about Professor Pieper's person-centered approach toward mentoring, positive outlook and generosity of his time in.

photo of professor yu holding Diekhoff certificate
Bill Yu - Civil and Environmental Engineering

Read The Daily to find out more about Professor Yu's adaptive mentoring approach and how he encourages his students to enjoy the journey.

See the list of all prior winners for the John S. Diekhoff Awards.

Congratulations to Our 2023 Nominees!

Elizabeth Bolman Art History and Art Teaching & Mentoring
Farren Briggs Population and Quantitative Health Sciences Teaching
Lauren Calandruccio Psychological Sciences Mentoring
Daniela Calvetti Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Statistics Mentoring
Angela Ciccia Communication Sciences Teaching
Karla Coburn Anatomy Teaching
Nicole Crown Biology Mentoring
Christopher Cullis Biology Mentoring
Dominique Durand Biomedical Engineering Mentoring
Agata Exner Radiology, Biomedical Engineering Mentoring
John Flores History Mentoring
Elina Gertsman Art History and Art Teaching
Marcin Golczak Pharmacology Teaching
Steven Hauck Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences Teaching
Susan Hinze Sociology Teaching & Mentoring
Stephen Jones Physiology and Biophysics Teaching
Metin Karayilan Chemistry Teaching
Kurt Koenigsberger English Mentoring
Kenneth Laurita Medicine and Biomedical Engineering Mentoring
Barbara Lewis Communication Sciences Mentoring
Janet McGrath Anthropology Teaching
Kathryn "Kay" McNeal Communication Sciences Mentoring
Jason Mears Pharmacology Mentoring
Shane Parker Chemistry Mentoring
Andrew Pieper Psychiatry, Neurosciences Mentoring
Andrea Rager Art History Mentoring
Bryan Schmidt Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Mentoring
Jerrold Scott Theatre Teaching
Lihong Shi Anthropology Teaching & Mentoring
Erkki Somersalo Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Statistics Mentoring
Noël Voltz History Mentoring
Christopher Wirth Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Teaching
Xiong (Bill) Yu Civil and Environmental Engineering Mentoring