Awards & Promotions

Faculty Awards 

Two medals

Distinguished University Professor

To honor exceptional faculty, CWRU awards the title of Distinguished University Professor. This title acknowledges contributions of full-time, tenured faculty with exceptional records of research, scholarship, teaching & service.

Dorothy Humel Hovorka

Hovorka Prize

The Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize is awarded to an active or emeritus member of the CWRU faculty in recognition of exceptional achievements in teaching, research, and scholarly service.

Case Western Reserve University Academic Honors Honorary Degree Award

Honorary Degrees

CWRU bestows Honorary Degrees on persons who exemplify the highest ideals and standards of excellence in any valued aspect of human endeavor, including the realm of scholarship, public service, and the performing arts.

Diekhoff Award winners

John S. Diekhoff Award

The John S. Diekhoff Award is presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University.

A blue background with a gold ribbon running through.

Wittke & Jackson Awards

The Wittke Award is presented each year to two faculty who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching. The Jackson Award recognizes the positive impact faculty and staff have on the lives of students through mentoring.

Glitter on a blue background

Other Faculty Honors and Awards

CWRU faculty members excel in their fields, and many have received significant recognition. This page provides information on the recipients of selected national and international awards and honors. Learn more about Faculty Honors and Awards.

Recently Promoted Faculty

Blue arrows pointing up

Faculty Promotions

CWRU faculty members who excel as scholars and researchers are promoted through the ranks of the academy. Learn more about Recently Promoted Faculty.