Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

The Carl F. Wittke Award was established in 1971 in honor of Carl Wittke, a former faculty member, dean and vice president of Western Reserve University. The Wittke Award is presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching. Wittke Award recipients are honored at the Undergraduate Studies diploma ceremony. 

Learn more about the nomination process for the Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching


Award Recipients


Cyrus Taylor, PhD, Albert A. Michelson Professor in Physics, College of Arts and Sciences

Anthony Wexler, PhD, Lecturer of English and SAGES Teaching Fellow


Diana Driscoll, PhD, Instructor, Department of Physics 

Larry Sears, Lecturer, Sears think[box] 


Harold Connamacher, PhD, Assistant Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science 

Jenny Hawkins, PhD, Assistant Professor, Economics  


Lauren Calandruccio, Associate Professor, Department of Psychological Sciences

Robert Spadoni, Armington Professor, Department of English