Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links

School of
Medicine

Pathology

PhD Trainers

PhD Trainers

PhD Trainers List

Location Key:

BRB - Biomedical Research Building

IP - Institute of Pathology

WRB - Wolstein Research Building

SOM - School of Medicine

LRI - Lerner Research Institute at the Cleveland Clinic

MHMC - MetroHealth Medical Center

RBC - Rainbow Babies & Childrens Hospital

TCC - Taussig Cancer Center at CCF

UHCMC - University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center

Wood - Harland G. Wood Building

VAMC - Louis Stokes VA Medical Center

 

Track Key:

CBTP - Cancer Biology Training Program

ITP - Immunology Training Program

MCBDTP - Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease Training Program 

Active PhD Trainers

(Faculty with potential slots for PhD students)

NameDepartment & LocationEmailPhoneTracks
Abbott, Derek M.D., Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 6533
derek.abbott@case.edu 216.368.8564 CBTP, ITP, MCBDTP
Adoro, Stanley

Pathology

stanley.adoro@case.edu 216.368.4712 CBTP, ITP
Almasan, Alex Ph.D. Cancer Biology
LRI NB40
almasaa@ccf.org 216.444.9970 CBTP
Alsberg, Eben, Ph.D. Biomedical Engineering & Orthopaedics
Wickenden 309
eben.alsberg@case.edu 216.368.6425 MCBDTP
Anthony, Jr., Donald D. M.D., Ph.D. Rheumatology
BRB 1028
donald.anthony@case.edu 216.368.3540 ITP
Atit, Radhika Ph.D. Biology
BRB 7th Floor
radhika.atit@case.edu 216.368.8819 MCBDTP
Bonomo, Robert M.D. Infectious Diseases
VAMC
robert.bonomo@case.edu 216.791.3800
Ext. 4399
ITP
Boom, W. Henry M.D. Infectious Diseases
BRB 1031
w.boom@case.edu 216.368.4844 ITP
Brady-Kalnay, Susann Ph.D. Molecular Biology & Microbiology
SOM W214B
susann.brady-kalnay@case.edu 216.368.0330 CBTP
Canaday, David M.D. Medicine, Division of Infectious Disease
BRB 10th Floor
david.canaday@case.edu 216.368.8901 ITP
Chance, Mark R. Ph.D. Vice Dean for Research
BRB 930
mark.chance@case.edu 216.368.3812 ITP
Chen, Shu Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5533
shu.chen@case.edu 216.368.8925 MCBDTP
Cobb, Brian Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 6532
brian.cobb@case.edu 216.368.1263 ITP
Cominelli, Fabio, M.D., Ph.D. Medicine
Wearn 253A
fabio.cominelli@uhhospitals.org 216.844.7344 ITP
Cooper, Kevin D. M.D. Dermatology
Lakeside 3500
kevin.cooper@case.edu 216.844.3111 CBTP, ITP
Danielpour, David Ph.D. Cancer Center
WRB 3532
david.danielpour@case.edu 216.368.5670 CBTP
DiFeo, Analisa, Ph.D. Hematology/Oncology
WRB 3136
analisa.difeo@case.edu 216.368.3117 CBTP
Distelhorst, Clark M.D. Hematology/Oncology
WRB 3133
clark.distelhorst@case.edu 216.368.4546 CBTP
Dubyak, George Ph.D. Physiology/Biophysics
SOM E535
george.dubyak@case.edu 216.368.5523 ITP
Eng, Charis M.D., Ph.D., FACP Cancer Genomic Medicine
LRI NE50
engc@ccf.org 216.444.3440 CBTP
Fairchild, Robert L. Ph.D. Immunology
LRI NB379
fairchr@ccf.org 216.444.3146 ITP
Finke, James H. Ph.D. Immunology
LRI NE40
finke@ccf.org 216.444.5186 ITP
Fox, Paul L. Ph.D. Cell Biology
LRI NC10
foxP@ccf.org 216.444.8053 MCBDTP
Gerson, Stanton M.D. Hematology/Oncology
WRB 2133
stanton.gerson@case.edu 216.368.1176 CBTP
Greenfield, Edward M. Ph.D. Orthopaedics
BRB 331
edward.greenfield@case.edu 216.368.1331 CBTP, ITP, MCBDTP
Gupta, Neetu, Ph.D. Immunology
LRI NE40
guptan@ccf.org 216.444.7455 ITP
Harding, Clifford V. M.D., Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 6522
clifford.harding@case.edu 216.368.3611 ITP
Hazen, Stanley M.D., Ph.D. Molecular Medicine
LRI NE10
hazens@ccf.org 216.445.9763 MCBDTP
Huang, Alex M.D., Ph.D. Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
WRB 6528
alex.y.huang@case.edu 216.368.1271 CBTP, ITP
Huang, Emina M.D. Stem Cell Biology & Regenerative Medicine
LRI
huange2@ccf.org 216.442.5097 CBTP
Jackson, Mark Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 3134
mark.jackson@case.edu 216.368.1276 CBTP
Jain, Mukesh, M.D. Case Cardiovascular Institute
WRB 4522
mukesh.jain2@case.edu 216.368.2036 MCBDTP
Kazura, James W. M.D. Center for Global Health
BRB 431
james.kazura@case.edu 216.368.4810 ITP
Keri, Ruth Ph.D. Pharmacology
Wood RT.308
ruth.keri@case.edu 216.368.3495 CBTP
King, Christopher M.D., Ph.D. Center for Global Health
BRB 421
christopher.king@case.edu 216.368.4817 ITP
LaManna, Joseph Ph.D. Physiology and Biophysics joseph.lamanna@case.edu 216.368.1112 MCBDTP
Lederman, Michael M.D. Infectious Diseases
Foley 301D
michael.lederman@case.edu 216.844.8786 ITP
Letterio, John M.D. Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
RBC 340
john.letterio@uhhospitals.org 216.844.3345 CBTP, ITP
Levine, Alan Ph.D. Gastroenterology
BRB 426
alan.levine@case.edu 216.368.0342 CBTP, ITP
Li, Xiaoxia Ph.D. Immunology
LRI NE40
lix@ccf.org 216.445.8076 ITP
Maciejewski, Jaroslaw M.D., Ph.D. Taussig Cancer Center
R35
maciejj@ccf.org 216.445.5963 CBTP
Manor, Danny Ph.D. Nutrition
Wood 600
danny.manor@case.edu 216.368.6230 CBTP, MCBDTP
Markowitz, Sanford M.D., Ph.D. Hematology/Oncology
WRB 3128
sanford.markowitz@case.edu 216.368.1976 CBTP
Matsuyama, Shigemi, D.V.M., Ph.D. Hematology/Oncology
WRB 3533
shigemi.matsuyama@case.edu 216.368.5832 CBTP
McCrae, Keith M.D. Hematology/Oncology
Taussig Cancer Center CCF
mccraek@ccf.org 216.445.8185 CBTP
Min, Booki D.V.M., Ph.D. Immunology
LRI NB30
minb@ccf.org 216.445.3126 ITP
Monnier, Vincent M. M.D. Pathology
WRB 5127
vincent.monnier@case.edu 216.368.6613 MCBDTP
Montano, Monica Ph.D. Pharmacology
Wood W.367
monica.montano@case.edu 216.368.3378 CBTP
Narla, Goutham M.D., Ph.D. Inst. for Transformative Molecular Medicine
WRB 4131
goutham.narla@case.edu 216.368.3111 CBTP
Parameswaran, Reshmi, Ph.D. Case Comprehensive Cancer Center reshmi.parameswaran
@case.edu
216.368.2435 CBTP
Pizarro, Theresa, Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5534
theresa.pizarro@case.edu 216.368.3306 ITP
Ramakrishnan, Parameswaran, Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 6526
parameswaran.
ramakrishnan@case.edu
216.368.2387 ITP
Ramirez, Diana, Ph.D. Cardiovascular Research Institute
WRB 4532
diana.ramirez@case.edu 216.368.2036 MCBDTP
Safar, Jiri, M.D. Pathology
IP 406
jiri.safar@case.edu 216.368.4609 MCBDTP
Scacheri, Peter C. Ph.D. Genetics
BRB 627
peter.scacheri@case.edu 216.368.3458 CBTP
Schiemann, William P. Ph.D. Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
WRB 2131
william.schiemann@case.edu 216.368.5763 CBTP
Schmaier, Alvin M.D. Hematology/Oncology
WRB 2130
alvin.schmaier@case.edu 216.368.1172 CBTP
Sen, Ganes Ph.D. Immunology
LRI NE20
seng@ccf.org 216.444.0636 ITP
Sieg, Scott Ph.D. Infectious Diseases
Wood G38B
scott.sieg@case.edu 216.368.6594 ITP
Silverman, Robert Ph.D. Cancer Biology
LRI NB40
silverr@ccf.org 216.445.9650 CBTP
Singh, Neena Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5527
neena.singh@case.edu 216.368.2617 MCBDTP
Smith, Jonathan Ph.D. Cell Biology
LRI NC10
smithj4@ccf.org 216.444.2248 MCBDTP
Stark, George R. Ph.D., F.R.S. Cancer Biology
LRI, NE2-306
starkg@ccf.org 216.444.3900 CBTP, ITP
Subauste, Carlos M.D. Ophthalmology
IP 115
carlos.subauste@case.edu 216.368.2785 ITP
Surewicz, Witold K. Ph.D. Physiology/Biophysics
Wood E643
witold.surewicz@case.edu 216.368.0139 MCBDTP
Wald, David M.D., Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 3530
david.wald@case.edu 216.368.5668 CBTP, ITP, MCBDTP
Wang, Bing.Cheng Ph.D. Pharmacology
Rammelkamp Center for Research, R421
bingcheng.wang@case.edu 216.778.4256 CBTP, MCBDTP
Wang, Zhenghe Ph.D. Genetics
WRB 3120
zhenghe.wang@case.edu 216.368.0446 CBTP
Xiao, Sam Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 6533
tsan.xiao@case.edu 216.368.3330 ITP
Yi, Qing M.D., Ph.D. Cancer Biology
LRI, CCF 
yiq@ccf.org 216.636.7532 CBTP
Zhang, Junran M.D., Ph.D Radiation Oncology
BRB 323
junran.zhang@case.edu 216.368.1140 CBTP
Zhou, Lan, M.D. Pathology
WRB 6527
lan.zhou@case.edu 216.368.1671 CBTP
Zhu, Xiongwei Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5122
xiongwei.zhu@case.edu 216.368.5903 MCBDTP
Zimmerman, Peter Ph.D. Center for Global Health
BRB 426
peter.zimmerman@case.edu 216.368.0508 ITP
Zou, Wen-Quan M.D., Ph.D. Pathology
IP 403
wenquan.zou@case.edu 216.368.8993 MCBDTP

Other Program Faculty

(Includes program advisors, teaching faculty and trainers not currently accepting new students)  

NameDepartment & LocationEmailPhoneTracks
Anderson, James M. M.D., Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5105
james.anderson@case.edu 216.368.0279 MCBDTP
Emancipator, Steven N. M.D.
Emeritus
Pathology
WRB 5134
steven.emancipator@case.edu 216.368.1598 ITP
Gambetti, Pierluigi M.D. Pathology
IP 419
pierluigi.gambetti@case.edu 216.368.0587 MCBDTP
Greenspan, Neil S. M.D., Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5130
neil.greenspan@case.edu 216.368.1280 ITP
Hamilton, Thomas A. Ph.D. Immunology
LRI NB30
hamiltt@ccf.org 216.444.6246 ITP
Hamlin, Clive Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5529
clive.hamlin@case.edu 216.368.0512 ITP, MCBDTP
Huang, Yung Ph.D.
Emeritus
Pathology
IP 519
yung.huang@uhhospitals.org 216.844.8611 ITP, MCBDTP
Kaplan, David M.D., Ph.D.
Emeritus
Pathology
WRB 5132
david.kaplan@case.edu 216.368.1279 CBTP, ITP
Kong, Qingzhong Ph.D. Pathology
IP 405
qingzhong.kong@case.edu 216.368.1756 MCBDTP
Medof, M. Edward M.D., Ph.D. Pathology
IP 301
m.medof@case.edu 216.368.5434 ITP
Meyerson, Howard M.D. Pathology
Bishop 568
howard.meyerson@case.edu 216.844.1848 CBTP, ITP
Nedrud, John G. Ph.D.
Emeritus
Pathology
WRB 5133
john.nedrud@case.edu 216.368.1280 ITP
Petersen, Robert Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
Pathology
WRB 5126
robert.petersen@case.edu 216.368.6709 MCBDTP
Tartakoff, Alan M. Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5533
alan.tartakoff@case.edu 216.368.5544 MCBDTP
Sy, Man-Sun Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5131
man-sun.sy@case.edu 216.368.1268 ITP
Veigl, Martina Ph.D. Cancer Center
WRB 3132
martina.veigl@case.edu 216.368.5689 CBTP
Ziats, Nicholas Ph.D. Pathology
WRB 5143
nicholas.ziats@case.edu 216.368.5176 MCBDTP