Advisory Committee on Research Computing

Subscribe to Our Mailing List

Contact Us About HPC

The Advisory Committee on Research Computing (ACRC) advises UTech on strategic issues related to the support of the CWRU research community's IT-related needs. The current chair of ACRC is Professor Roger French. ACRC makes policy and priority recommendations related to service offerings of UTech Research Computing and Cyberinfrastructure.

ACRC chairs:

  • 2018-2020: Roger French, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
  • 2015-2018: William Deal, Professor and Chair of Cognitive Science (now Professor of Religious Studies)
  • 2013-2015: Michael Lewicki, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (now Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • 2012-2013: Mark Griswold, Professor of Radiology
  • 2010-2012: Daniela Calvetti, Professor and Chair of Mathematics (now Professor of Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, and Statistics)
  • 2008-2010: Sara Debanne, Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics (now Professor of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences)
  • 2007-2008: Chris Mihos, Professor of Astronomy
  • 2005-2007: Iwan Alexander, Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (now Dean of Engineering at the University of Alabama - Birmingham)
  • 2004-2005: Lawrence Krauss, Professor and Chair of Physics (now Foundation Professor, Department of Physics, at Arizona State University)

2019-2020 Membership
At-large voting members:

Jill Barnholtz-Sloan, Ph.D.
Professor, Population and Quantitative Health Sciences

William Bush, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Population and Quantitative Health Sciences

Claudia Coulton, Ph.D.
Professor, Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences

William Deal, Ph.D.
Professor, Religious Studies

Roger French, Ph.D. (Chair)
Professor, Materials Science and Engineering

Mark Griswold, Ph.D.
Professor, Radiology

Steven Hauck, Ph.D.
Professor, Earth, Environmental, and Planetary Sciences

Michael Hinczewski, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Physics

Thomas LaFramboise, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Genetic and Genome Sciences

Bo Li, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Anant Madabhushi, Ph.D.
Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Cameron McIntyre, Ph.D.
Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Phoebe Stewart, Ph.D.
Professor, Pharmacology

Blanton Tolbert, Ph.D. 
Professor, Chemistry

Ex-officio voting members:

Roger Bielefeld, Ph.D.
Assistant Vice President, Research Computing and Infrastructure Services
Representing University Technology

Stephanie Endy
Associate Vice President, Research and Technology Management
Representing the Office of Research and Technology Management

Weiyi Liu
Graduate Student, Operations, School of Management
Representing Graduate Student Government

Matthew Plow, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, School of Nursing
Representing Faculty Senate Committee on Information and Communication Technology