External Accolades

External accolades refer to prestigious awards, honors and achievements bestowed upon our faculty members by external organizations. These recognitions celebrate SOM’s excellence and influence beyond its immediate academic environment.

If you have any suggestions regarding significant external award opportunities you would like to include below, please fill in this Google form to notify us.

External Award Opportunities

Explore some of the external award opportunities listed below along with their application deadlines. For detailed information, kindly visit the respective organization's website linked below for each award.

The Marine Biological Laboratory, a hub for research and education and an affiliate of the University of Chicago, convenes biologists from around the world each year to advance the mission of biological discovery.

The next Whitman Center Fellowship application deadline will be in early December 2023.

The distinction of ASBMB Fellow is bestowed on members with a history of exceptional and sustained service to the society, as well as a distinguished record of professional accomplishment to advance molecular life sciences in areas such as basic and translational research, application and commercialization, education, outreach, diversity and inclusion, mentorship, leadership and/or public service. 

The Society of Critical Care Medicine's (SCCM) annual awards program recognizes and honors the achievements of SCCM members, while encouraging excellence in teaching and research.

Applications and nominations will open summer 2024.

Through its prestigious awards program, the AAMC recognizes and celebrates the members of our community who are making significant advances in medical education, cutting-edge patient care, groundbreaking research, and outstanding community engagement.

It is currently accepting nominations for the 2023 Awards. 

The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine announces the competition for the Young Investigator Awards for the ISMRM 32nd Annual Meeting & Exhibition, in Singapore, 04-09 May 2024. Three awards will be given: the W.S. Moore Award in Clinical Science, the I.I. Rabi Award in Basic Science, and the Prince-Meany Award in Translational Science.

External Award Highlights

Side by side images of Kim Anderson-Erisman and Timothy Chan
The National Academy of Medicine

Two Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine professors have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), one of the nation’s most esteemed societies for health and medicine.

Read More

Amit Gupta selected to join Council of Early Career Investigators in Imaging
Council of Early Career Investigators in Imaging

Amit Gupta, associate professor of radiology at Case Western Reserve University, was nominated and selected to join the Council of Early Career Investigators in Imaging (CECI²) Class of 2023 of the Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research.

Read More

Medicine’s Dana Crawford named fellow of American College of Medical Informatics
Fellow of American College of Medical Informatics

Dana Crawford, professor in the Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences, was named a fellow in the American College of Medical Informatics, a college of elected fellows who have made significant and sustained contributions to the field of biomedical informatics. 

Read More

Karen Bolte Mulloy
F. Marian Bishop Educator of the Year Award

School of Medicine’s Karen Mulloy wins 2023 F. Marian Bishop Educator Award. This award recognizes an APTR member who has made significant and outstanding contributions to the instruction of students or residents that advances the field of public health and prevention. 

Read More