Section Director: Philip Bomeisl, DO

Fellowship Director: Claire Michael, MD

Cytopathology has been a strength in our department since the 1940s, when Dr. James Reagan, a pioneer in cytopathology, established a legacy of excellence in cytopathology service, research, and education.  The Division of Cytopathology is comprised of two services: non-gynecologic which is focused on the interpretation of exfoliative and aspiration cytology specimens and gynecologic (“Pap Smears”). Our Department has a robust clinical service currently accessioning over 7400 non-gynecologic and 29,000 gynecologic specimens a year. A full range of ancillary tests are available in select cases to assist in the diagnosis and/or predict response to therapy including immunocytochemistry, flow cytometry and molecular diagnostics. Cytopathology specimens are signed out by faculty with subspecialty expertise and many are actively engaged in cytopathology research and training programs.