Division of Anatomic Pathology

The Division of Anatomic Pathology includes Surgical Pathology, Autopsy Pathology and Cytopathology. The Surgical Pathology Section includes subspecialty teams devoted to subspecialty service areas. The Division is staffed by more than 20 primary faculty members. The Division has grown substantially in the last 6 years, and during this time new senior leadership appointments have been made in all areas of the Division.

Learn more about the Division of Anatomic Pathology.

Division of Clinical Pathology

The Division of Clinical Pathology provides comprehensive, state-of-the-art, laboratory service across the full spectrum of diagnostic specialties.  The Division performs over 16 million tests per year at University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center (UHCMC) which support the advanced clinical services at UHCMC, University Hospitals Health System (UHHS) regional hospitals, and its broad network of physician practices throughout Northeast Ohio. Both routine and esoteric testing are offered ranging from the highly automated core laboratory to advanced personalized medicine and molecular diagnostics. The Clinical Pathology Division specialty laboratory sections are led by nationally-prominent academic physicians, doctoral scientists, and researchers.

Learn more about the Division of Clinical Pathology.

Division of Community Hospitals Pathology

The Division of Community Hospitals Pathology provides comprehensive pathology services throughout the Northeast Ohio region. Our board certified Community Hospitals pathologists collaborate closely with our academic faculty. Academic teaching activities are shared with the Community Hospitals staff, including lecture series and slide review sessions.

Our Community Hospitals pathologists are trained in many sub-specialties including: Gynecological Pathology, Perinatal Pathology, Surgical Pathology, Cytopathology, Hematopathology, Neuropathology, and Infectious Diseases, among others. 

Learn more about the Division of Community Hospitals Pathology.

Division of Experimental Pathology

The Division of Experimental Pathology includes research-intensive faculty and their laboratories engaged in basic and translational research programs. For in recent years, the department has been ranked in the top 10-12 Pathology departments in the U.S. in NIH funding. While there are many topics of investigation, the three major research emphasis areas are cancer biology (particularly breast cancer, hematopoietic malignancies and GI cancer), immunology (and related areas such as inflammation, infectious diseases, inflammatory bowel disease and immunotherapy), and neurodegenerative diseases (prion disorders, Alzheimers, Parkinsons, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis or ALS, Frontotemporal Dimentia or FTD, etc). The department is home to the CDC-funded National Prion Disease Pathology Surveillance Center.

Learn more about the Division of Experimental Pathology.

Prion Center

The National Prion Disease Pathology Surveillance Center (NPDPSC) was established in 1997 at the Division of Neuropathology of Case Western Reserve University. Several European countries also have established surveillance centers to monitor the occurrence of prion diseases or spongiform encephalopathies, in response to the epidemic of Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE), also known as "mad cow disease," which occurred in the United Kingdom during the 1980s.

Learn more about the Prion Center.


Learn more about the Department of Pathology Administration.