Continuing Case Western Reserve University’s efforts to meet Google’s file storage caps, [U]Tech soon will begin steps to remove files owned by individuals with suspended CWRU Google Workspace accounts or those in a Shared Drive scheduled for deletion.
Individuals who have left the university, including alumni, will have their accounts suspended, then deleted after 180 days. This means their files, including Shared Drives managed by them, will also be deleted.
Starting today, September 12, 2023, [U]Tech will apply the label "To Be Deleted" to files in Google Workspace that are scheduled for deletion. The label may take a few days to appear on affected files.
On February 1, 2024, the Google accounts of anyone who hasn’t been affiliated with the university for more than six months as of that date will be deleted. This means all of the files owned by those accounts will also be permanently deleted. Also on February 1, 2024, all Shared Drives that have not had an active CWRU manager for more than one year will be deleted. After February 1, 2024, any Google Workspace account that has been suspended for 180 days and any Shared Drives without an active CWRU manager for more than one year will be automatically deleted.
To ensure you have continued access to necessary files, all faculty, staff and students should review the files scheduled for deletion. Follow the steps to find and safeguard these files on the Google Files Shared By Suspended Users webpage.