Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links



The Alumni Association's 2017 Alumni Awards will be presented to six accomplished individuals during this year's Homecoming Luncheon on Friday, October 6.

2017 Alumni Award Recipients: Jean Murell Capers, John P. Claypool, David A.G. Johnson Jr, James B. Treleaven, Jiajia Veronica Xu

2017 Alumni Award Recipients: Jean Murell Capers, John P. Claypool, David A.G. Johnson Jr, James B. Treleaven, Jiajia Veronica Xu

2017 Alumni Award Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Award
Jean Murrell Capers (EDU '32), who died in July at age 104, fostered an unprecedented commitment to education, politics and law. She was the first African-American woman elected to Cleveland’s City Council in 1949, served as special counsel to the Ohio Attorney General and was an original member of the Women’s Advisory Council of Employment Services. At age 62, Capers was appointed and then elected Cleveland Municipal Judge. Her service to the community, including work with the Central Welfare Association and the National Council of Negro Women, exemplified her focus on social justice and a commitment to the Cleveland area. Capers has been inducted into the Ohio Women’s Hall of Fame and the Ohio Civil Rights Hall of Fame and honored by the National Bar Association, as well as the Ohio and Cleveland bar associations, the National Council of Negro Women, the City Club of Cleveland, YMCA and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority.

Professional Achievement Award
John P. Claypool (ADL '70) built a successful career in architecture and city planning. While working in the administrations of two Philadelphia mayors, he led efforts to reform management and balance budgets. As executive director of the American Institute of Architects Philadelphia chapter, Claypool created the independent Center for Architecture, which is responsible for the annual DesignPhiladelphia Festival, highlighting the work of local designers, architects and creative professionals. He also led efforts to raise funds for the Philadelphia public schools and the Charter High School for Architecture + Design, where students can begin to pursue a career in architecture.

Newton D. Baker Award
David A. G. Johnson Jr. (WRC '73) serves on The Alumni Association of Case Western Reserve’s board of directors. Johnson also served on several CWRU visiting committees, including as co-chair of the Visiting Committee of University Libraries.  He served CWRU’s New York Alumni Association (NYAA) as president, secretary and archivist, and was awarded the Adrian Freeman Award by the NYAA in 1999. He also is involved in Columbia University’s alumni groups. Beyond alumni leadership and service, Johnson has served as a mentor for student teachers/graduate students at Queens College, The City University of New York and St. John’s University, as president and trustee of the Schomburg Corp., board chairman for the Cinque Gallery and on advisory committees for Carnegie Hall's Weill Music Institute and the Romare Bearden Foundation.

Daniel T. Clancy Award
James B. Treleaven (CIT '69, GRS '90, management), president and CEO of Via Strategy Group, has been involved with Case Western Reserve since his leadership as a student. For the past 47 years, the Chicago resident has been involved with The Alumni Association of Case Western Reserve, including serving as president, the Case Alumni Association, Spartan Club and several visiting and planning committees across the university.

Young Alumni Award
Jiajia Veronica Xu (LAW '08) works in international and corporate law, helping clients bridge cultural differences. She is an instructor with the Law and Leadership Institute, sponsored by the Ohio Supreme Court, organizes free legal seminars for minorities in Northeast Ohio, mentors CWRU law students and alumni, teaches Chinese to children and adults and serves as diversity committee vice-chair of the American Bar Association and board member of the Cleveland Student Housing Association.


Previous Alumni Award Winners

Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award

2016 Fred Gray, JD (LAW '54, HON '92)

2016 Morton Mandel (HON ’07, CWR ’13)

2015 William Baker (ADL '66, GRS '68, '72)

2014 Jerold Goldberg, DDS (DEN'70, DEN'74)

2013 Sarah Short Austin (BA '54, SAS '62)

2012 Julie Gerberding, MD, (WRC '77, MED '81)

2011 Theodore J. Castele, MD (ADL '51, MED '57)

2009 May L. Wykle, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA (NUR '62, '69, GRS '81)

2008 Larry Sears (CIT '69)

2007 Gregory L. Eastwood, MD (MED '66)

Newton D. Baker Distinguished Service Award

2016 Donald Foster (ADL '50)

2015 Robert Haynie (GRS '72, MED '78)

2014 Linda Wilson (FSM '71)

2013 Representative, Louis B. Stokes (LAW '53)

2012 vic gelb (ADL '51)

2011 Baiju R. Shah

2010 Daniel T. Clancy (LAW '62)

2009 Charles R. Ault (ADL '48, LAW '51)

Daniel T. Clancy (LAW '62) Alumni Service Award

2016 Nancy Fink (WRC '73)

2015 Joy Shefter (FSM '66)

2014 Laura J. Nosek, PhD, RN (BSN '61, MSN'81, PhD Nursing '86)

2013 Michael Magness (BA '70, LAW '73)

2012 John Massie (CIT '66)

2011 Patricia (Pat) B. Kilpatrick (FSM '49; GRS '51, physical education)

Professional Achievement Award

2016 Tshilidzi Marwala, PhD (CWR '95)

2015 Robert Hilliard (GRS '50)

2014 Scott P. Bruder, MD, PhD (GRS '90, MED '92)

2013 Lucinda S. Lavelli (MGF '71, MGT '91)

2012 Claudia J. Coulton, PhD, (SAS '78)

Young Alumni Award

2016 Aleksandra V. Rachitskaya, MD (MED '08)

2015 Jacquelyn Renee Adams (CWR '02)

2014 Elizabeth A. Davis (MFA '06)

2013 Major James R. Lisher, II (LAW '04)

2012 F. Kurtis Kasper, PhD, (CWR '99)

2010 Hiroyuki Fujita (GRS '98)

2009 Lee E. Ponsky (MED '97)