NPDPSC Leadership & Advisory Board


Name Position Role
Brian Appleby, MD Director General oversight of NPDPSC. Clinical follow-up and diagnostics for human prion cases. Maintain relationships with caregivers, patient families, state public health departments, CDC, and the CJD Foundation.
Mark Cohen, MD Co-Director, 
Histology Section Director
Clinical neuropathology – histopathological and immunohistochemical diagnostics.
Shashi Shetty, PhD, FACMG Genetics & CLIA Lab Director, 
Molecular Section Director
Prion diagnostics laboratory oversight, as well as genetics and molecular specialist.
Jaime Noguez, PhD, DABCC CSF Section Director Clinical Chemistry - cerebrospinal fluid diagnostics.
Allison Kraus, PhD Associate Director Development of prion protein seeding assays and improved diagnostics.
Qingzhong Kong, PhD Associate Director Molecular analyses of prions and development of prion disease diagnostics.
Ignazio Cali, PhD Associate Director Molecular characterization and Neuropathology – histopathological and immunohistochemical diagnostics.

Advisory Board - The following members are part of the Center's advisory board, who provide support and advise the members of the faculty (listed above).

**Note - advisory board members do not work for and are not personnel of the Center. 

Name Role
Clifford Harding, MD, PhD Professor and Chair of Pathology, Department of Pathology, School of Medicine, CWRU.
William P. Schiemann, PhD Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine, CWRU.
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair of Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences, School of Medicine, CWRU.
Ms. Debbie Yobs President of CJD Foundation.
Bernardino Ghetti, MD Distinguished Professor of Pathology, Indiana University School of Medicine.
Richard Knight, MD Emeritus Professor of Clinical Neurology, University of Edinburgh, National CJD Research and Surveillance Unit