Recognition and Scholarships

Every academic year, Case Western Reserve University recognizes outstanding students, teachers and staff for their contributions to the Case community. We recognize their distinguished service to the university with a wide range of awards, presentations, honors and accolades:

Dr. Dorothy Pijan Student Leadership Awards

In 1982, Dr. Dorothy Pijan created The Student Leadership Awards in honor of outstanding undergraduate student leaders at Case. Dr. Pijan had worked as the director of Thwing Center and Student Activities from 1982-2003. After her death, the awards were named in her honor to recognize her many contributions to student life.

Carl F. Wittke Award

The Carl F. Wittke Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching was established in 1971 in honor of Carl Wittke, a former faculty member, dean, and vice president of Western Reserve University. The Wittke Award is presented each year to two Case faculty members who demonstrate excellence in undergraduate teaching.

J. Bruce Jackson, MD, Award

The J. Bruce Jackson, MD, Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring was established by J. Bruce Jackson, a 1952 graduate of Western Reserve University. He created the award in honor of Dr. Carl F. Wittke, a dean at the university, as well as a friend, mentor and advisor to Jackson. The Jackson Award is given out annually, and recognizes outstanding advising and mentoring of undergraduate students.

John S. Diekhoff Award

The John S. Diekhoff Award is presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University. The award was created in honor of John Diekhoff, who served as professor of English, chair of the Department of English, dean of Cleveland College, acting dean of the School of Graduate Studies and vice provost of the university.

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

Case Western Reserve University is proud to recognize the outstanding achievements of students that have earned the coveted honor of Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Students who receive the award are recognized for their scholastic achievement and academic excellence on a national level.

The Stephanie Tubbs-Jones Award

The Stephanie Tubbs-Jones Award recognizes an underrepresented, undergraduate CWRU student for significant contributions to campus life, scholarship, and community service. These three characteristics were best demonstrated by Tubbs-Jones, a Case alum who was actively involved in campus life and the nearby community. In 1998, Tubbs-Jones was the first African-American woman to represent Ohio in the U.S. House of Representatives. She was serving her fifth term when she died in August, 2008.