Lillian and Milford Harris Library

Two students sitting in front of glass wall reading Harris Library

The Lillian and Milford Harris Library is one of a few libraries in the country dedicated entirely to social work literature and scholarship.

The staff at the Harris Library is dedicated to helping you secure the information you need to succeed. Don't hesitate to reach out.

Local phone: 216.368.2302
Toll free: 800.944.2290 (ask for the Harris Library at Ext. 2302)
Fax: 216.368.2106

Reference email:
Interlibrary loan email:
Physical location: Mandel School, room 175

Fall 2023 Hours

August 28 - December 8

Monday -Thursday:  8 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Friday:  8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Note: Wednesday, November 22 - Library closes at 3 p.m. for Thanksgiving holiday

University holidays - Library closed

Saturday, September 2 – Labor Day Weekend
Sunday, September 3 – Labor Day Weekend
Monday, September 4 – Labor Day Holiday
Thursday, November 23 – Thanksgiving Holiday
Friday, November 24  – Thanksgiving Holiday
Saturday, November 25 – Thanksgiving Weekend
Sunday, November 26 – Thanksgiving Weekend

Electronic Resources

All e-journals, e-books, and research databases are available to the Mandel School and CWRU communities. Please remember to use Single Sign-On (SSO) or VPN to access these resources from off campus.

Research Assistance

Librarians are available to conduct virtual research consultations by email, phone or Zoom. We continue to offer library instruction and faculty support.

Do you have further questions? Please contact us:

Phone: 216-368-2302
Zoom: by request

Meet the staff

Samantha C. Skutnik
Director / Librarian

M.L.S., Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana.
B.A., Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

Kristen Kirchgesler
Web Services Librarian
216.368.1658 or

M.S.I., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan.
B.A., Oberlin College, Oberlin, Ohio.

Robert Carroll
Engagement and Instruction Librarian

M.L.I.S, Kent State University, Kent, Ohio.
B.A., University of California, San Diego, CA.

Lena Ford
Circulation & Access Services Coordinator

Debora Morris
Executive Assistant to the Director