Winnie Wong

Winnie Wong, D.M.D. (DEN ‘16) received the Outstanding New Dentist Award. The award is given to an alum whose accomplishments enhance the perception of the dental profession, has demonstrated outstanding service to his/her community and is engaged with the activities of the School of Dental Medicine. 

Wong completed her general practice residency training at Loyola University Medical Center in 2017 receiving two Magis star recognitions for providing outstanding service and care. She is the proud co-owner of Barsan, Stefan and Wong Family Dental, located in Fairlawn and Cuyahoga Falls, while serving multiple leadership roles in organized dentistry at the local, state and national levels. Wong has been an elected delegate of the ODA House of Delegates for the last 3 years and has also served as an alternate delegate for the ADA. Wong recently received the Rising Star Award from the ODA and has been asked to serve on a Reference Committee for the annual session. Wong chairs the New Dentist Committee and the Membership and Communications Committee of the Greater Cleveland Dental Society. Wong currently serves as the Vice President of the Greater Cleveland Dental Society, and she will become the first Asian American, as well as the youngest dentist, to hold the title of President of GCDS in 2024.  Described as a servant leader, Wong has also volunteered her professional services at Open M, Give Kids A Smile Day, Medworks, SafeSmiles, the Cleveland Asian Festival and Remote Area Medical. 

Wong joined the CWRU School of Dental Medicine Alumni Association Board of Directors shortly upon completion of her residency and also serves as a mentor for first through fourth year students through the Dr. Daniel Verne Mentorship Program, a collaboration between the Greater Cleveland Dental Society dentists and the CWRU School of Dental Medicine. Kari Cunningham, DDS (DEN ‘10, ‘12) says, “Dr. Wong represents our alma mater and our profession with poise, grace, dignity and respect and possesses all the qualities that a recipient of this award should have.”