About Diversity and Inclusion at FPB

In 2016, Mary E. Kerr, Phd, RN, FAAN, then-dean and May L. Wykle Professor, created the school's Diversity and Inclusion Task Force. Its purpose was to lead the development of diversity and inclusion strategic plan for the school. The task force's work began with the collection and review of strategic plans from private and public schools of nursing to educate all committee members on definitions, scope, activities, and outcomes of diversity and inclusion efforts at peer institutions.

In 2022, Dr. Camille Warner was appointed as the inaugural Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) at the FPB School of Nursing. The Diversity and Inclusion Task Force at FPB transitioned to the DEI Advisory Board.


The Diversity and Inclusion Task Force at the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing works to promote diversity and inclusion among students, staff and faculty using principles of mutual respect, and open communication. Diversity is the array of differences, both visible and invisible, that may affect human interaction. As we work to become more diverse, we embrace our differences, which add value and advance the goals and objectives for the School of Nursing.


The task force's vision is to create the best environment in which students, staff and faculty work, learn and share diverse ideas and where all members of the school feel proud, safe and valued.


The task force values diversity and inclusion. Diversity is the spice in thought, speech, and action, from which we can learn about our respective differences and support the expression of brave ideas that reach beyond the norm. It is important that students, staff, and faculty exhibit accountable behaviors that demonstrate integrity and ownership. We will celebrate our accomplishments and the cultural heritage of those represented in our community.

Dedra Hanna Adams, MA, MPA, Chair
Director of Financial Aid

Faye Gary, EdD, RN, FAAN
The Medical Mutual of Ohio Kent W. Clapp Chair & Professor of Nursing

Ronald L. Hickman, Jr., PhD, RN, ACNP-BC, FAAN
Associate Dean for Research
The Ruth M. Anderson Professor of Nursing

Maureen Kendel
Manager, Faculty Affairs and Special Projects

Janna Kinney, MSN, RN, CCRN

Scott Moore, PhD, RN, APRN, AGPCNP-BC
Assistant Professor

Amy Zhang, PhD
Associate Professor

Colleen Fitzpatrick
MSN Program Assistant

Betty Napoleon, RN
Director of Institutional Research

May L. Wykle
Professor emerita

Sara Douglas, PhD, RN