Advisory Boards

A group of nurse leaders standing together for a photo

Internal Advisory Board


To embrace the Marian K. Shaughnessy Nurse Leadership Academy’s vision to make the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing the “Leadership Destination.” The Advisory Board consists of representatives from the school including students, staff, alumni and faculty.

●    Develop leadership knowledge and skills of all students, staff, alumni and faculty
●    Highlight the school’s legacy and its impact on the profession
●    Provide opportunities to learn from experts and each other

The Advisory Board’s purpose aligns with the Mission and Vision of the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing.

  • Rebecca M. Patton, Board Co-Chair; faculty, Lucy Jo Atkinson Professor in Perioperative Nursing
  • Mary A. Dolansky, Board Co-Chair; faculty; Sarah C. Hirsh Endowed Professorship in Nursing and Associate Professor
  • Evelyn Duffy, faculty, Florence Cellar Professor in Gerontological Nursing
  • Joyce Fitzpatrick, faculty, Elizabeth Brooks Ford Professor in Nursing
  • Janna Kinney, faculty, instructor
  • Caron Peoples, staff, Director of Information Technology
  • Joachim Voss, faculty, Independence Foundation Professor in Nursing Education
  • Nicholas Valenta, student, Undergraduate Student Nurses Association representative
  • Rachel Caraffi, MN student
  • Nancy Hovan, Development Director
  • Zeyana Al Ismaili, PhD student
  • Karen Hogan, alumni, President of the Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing Alumni Association
  • Deborah Lindell, faculty, The Marvin E. and Ruth Durr Denekas Professor of Nursing, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
  • Margaux Francis, Director of Human Resources and Administrative Operations
  • Jack FitzGerald, Manager of the Marian K. Shaughnessy Nurse Leadership Academy

Consistent with its mission, the Marian K. Shaughnessy Nurse Leadership Academy is announcing a small grants program to support the development of leadership projects within the School of Nursing. We are soliciting proposals for leadership projects that demonstrate the impact of nursing leadership within clinical practice, education, or in the community.

Leadership in this context refers to recognizing an opportunity within the school, the university, a healthcare system, or the community, identifying the opportunity with the relevant stakeholders, and proposing and implementing solutions that contribute to positive change. The project should be related to Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing's strategic plan, and the description of the projects' structure should align with the school's leadership. All proposed projects should be of short-term duration, with the potential for completion in 6-12 weeks.

Download the Leadership Development Program Grant Application

2021-2022 grant recipients

Shannon C. Wong, CPNP, MSN, BSN, RN

  • Linking Senior Capstone Students with Freshmen in Community Health

Sheryl Scott, DNP, RN

  • Alumni Working in Small Liberal Arts Nursing College to Build Teamwork among Faculty

Rita M. Sfiligoj, DNP, MPA, RN

  • Transforming Educational Approach to Align with New Essentials and Future of Nursing Report

Janine Galeski, MSN, MA, RN, FNP-BC

  • Supporting Clinical APRN Preceptors and Mentors at Lake Health

"Improving Teamwork Among Nursing Faculty in a Small Liberal Arts College," by Sheryl Scott, DNP, RN, CNE

"FPB Course Coordinator Leadership Retreat," by Rita Sfiligoj, DNP, MPA, RN, CCM, and Shannon Wong, MSN, RN, CNP

"Undergraduate Nursing Students' Leadership Engagement," by Shannon Wong, MSN, RN, CNP, and Rita Sfiligoj, DNP, MPA, RN, CCM

"Best Practices in Precepting and Mentoring of APPS: A Training Guide with CME for UH and UH LakeHealth Advanced Practice Providers," by Janine Galeski, MSN, MA, FNP-BC, in collaboration with Kehllee Popovich, Toby Bourisseau, and Natasha Ashcraft

Global Advisory Board

The following globally-recognized leaders have graciously lent their time and expertise to the advisory board for the Marian K. Shaughnessy Nurse Leadership Academy.

The Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing is excited to welcome their commitment to promoting excellence in nursing leadership and management.

*Denotes inaugural Global Board member.

  • Joyce J. Fitzpatrick, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN (Chair)*, Director of the Marian K. Shaughnessy Nurse Leadership Academy
  • Robyn Begley, DNP, RN, NEA-BC*, Chief Executive Officer of the American Organization for Nursing Leadership (AONL) and Chief Nursing Officer, Senior Vice President of workforce for the American Hospital Association (AHA)
  • Linda Burnes Bolton, DrPH, RN, FAAN*, Senior Vice President and Health System Chief Nursing Executive Cedars Sinai Hospital
  • Loressa Cole, DNP, MBA, RN, FACHE, NEA-B*, Chief Executive Officer, American Nurses Association Enterprise
  • Linda Q. Everett, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN*, Visiting Professor, Marian K. Shaughnessy Nurse Leadership Academy
  • Margaret A. Fitzgerald, DNP, FNP-BC, NP-C, FAANP, CSP, FAAN, DCC, FNAP*, President and Founder, Fitzgerald Health Associates, Clinical Practice, Greater Lawrence (MA) Family Health Center
  • Greer Glazer, PhD, RN, CNP, FAAN*, Dean Emeritus and Schmidlapp Professor Emerita of Nursing, University of Cincinnati College of Nursing
  • Angela Barron McBride, PhD, MSN, RN, FAAN*, Distinguished Professor and University Dean Emerita, Indiana University School of Nursing, Chair, National Advisory Committee, Nurse Scholars Program, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Lise A. Murphy*, Founding Executive at The Hill Newspaper
  • Carol Porter, DNP, RN, FAAN*, Chief Nursing Officer and Senior Vice President of Nursing Practice, MD Anderson Cancer Center, University of Texas
  • Judith Shamian, PhD, RN, LLD (hon), D.Sci. (hon), FAAN*, President Emerita, International Council of Nurses, Professor, Lawrence Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, University of Toronto
  • Anne Shaughnessy*, Senior Manager, Accenture
  • Pamela Cipriano, PhD, RN, FAAN, President of the International Council of Nurses
  • Todd Nelson, FHFMA, MBA, Director of Partner Relationships and Chief Partnership Executive, Healthcare Financial Management Association 
  • Stuart Downs, DNP, MSA, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CENP, CPHQ, FACHE, FAONL, FAAN, Nursing Administrator of Northside Hospital Gwinnett
  • Aisha K. Mix, DNP, MPH, RN, PHDP-BC, Chief Nursing Officer, US Public Health Service Commissioned Corps
  • Melvin L. Smith, Ph.D., Professor of Organizational Behavior and Faculty Director, Executive Education Weatherhead School of Management, Case Western Reserve University
  • Carolyn Jones, photographer and filmmaker
  • Deborah Zimmermann, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, CEO of the Daisy Foundation
  • Michael Goldberg, Executive Director, Veale Institute for Entrepreneurship, Case Western Reserve University
  • Sophia Chan, PhD, MPH, MEd, PRDHCE, DNA, RTN, RN, RSCN, FFPH, FAAN, Hong Kong University

Former Global Board Members
*Denotes inaugural board member

  • Michael Anderson, MD, MBA, FAAP*
  • Jack Kleinhenz, PhD, CBE*
  • Andy Bhattacharya, MHS*
  • Peter Pronovost, MD, PhD, FCCM*
  • Linda J. Knodel, MHA, MSN, NE-BC, CPHQ, FACHE, FAAN*
  • Maryjoan D. Ladden, PhD, RN, FAAN*
  • Susan C. Reinhard, PhD, RN, FAAN*
  • Richard Boyatzis, PhD