Contact Us

CTSC Program Contact Info

Address:

Case Western Reserve University
Clinical and Translational Science Collaborative
School of Medicine, BRB 109
10900 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44106-4961
216.368.7551 | Fax 216.368.0972
ctsc-administrator@case.edu

As a reminder, the CTSC must receive acknowledgement on relevant publications. Please include the following text:

"This publication was made possible by the Clinical and Translational Science Collaborative of Cleveland, UL1TR002548 from the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) component of the National Institutes of Health and NIH roadmap for Medical Research. Its contents are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official views of the NIH."

Administration

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Michael Konstan, MD Principal Investigator CWRU michael.konstan@case.edu 216.368.3731
Meg Guncik Manager of Administrative Operations and Assistant to Dr. Konstan CWRU meg.guncik@case.edu 216.368.3731
Ginny Petrie Executive Director CWRU ginny.petrie@case.edu 216.368.5666
Shannon Swiatkowski Manager of Administrative Operations CWRU shannon.swiatkowski@case.edu 216.368.7551
Zina Hempstead Manager of Finance CWRU zina.hempstead@case.edu 216.368.2567

Clinical Study Resources

Trial Innovation Network Hub Liaison Team

Name Title Institution Email Phone
James Chmiel, MD Co-Medical Director University Hospitals james.chmiel@uhhospitals.org  
Lara Jehi, MD Co-Medical Director Cleveland Clinic jehil@ccf.org  
Noreen Roman, MT(ASCP), MBA Project Coordinator MetroHealth nroman@metrohealth.org 216.778.3130

Clinical Study Resources Team

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L Executive Director, Health and Patient-Focused Research Cleveland Clinic bhasinc@ccf.org 216.444.5113
K. Megan O'Neill Miller Administrative Manager University Hospitals Megan.Miller3@uhhospitals.org 216.844.4720
Noreen Roman, MT(ASCP), MBA Administrative Manager MetroHealth nroman@metrohealth.org 216.778.3130

ResearchMatch

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Rebecca Weintraub Coordinator, Research Compliance, Education, & Outreach University Hospitals rebecca.weintraub@uhhospitals.org 216.286.7069

Education and Training

Research Education

Data Management

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carolyn Apperson-Hansen, MSTAT Research Concierge CWRU carolyn.apperson-hansen@case.edu 216.368.0035

SMART IRB

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carey Gorden, JD, MA Manager, Human Research Protection Program MetroHealth cgorden@metrohealth.org 216.778.2021

Entrepreneurship

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Mark Chance, PhD Vice Dean for Research CWRU mark.chance@case.edu 216.368.0291
Ofer Reizes, PhD NCAI Director for Skills Development Cleveland Clinic reizeso@ccf.org 216.444.8323

Regulatory & Compliance

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Philip Cola, PhD Associate Director, Academic Affairs CWRU philip.cola@case.edu 216.368.6932

KL2 Training Program

For general information about the program, please contact:

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Beth Spyke, MPA KL2 Research Education & Training Program Manager Cleveland Clinic spykeb@ccf.org 216.444.2702

Key Staff Members

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Raed Dweik, MD Program Director Cleveland Clinic dweikr@ccf.org 216.445.5763
Alfred Connors, MD Sr. Vice President and Chief Quality Officer MetroHealth aconnors@metrohealth.org 216.778.8266
Neal Dawson, MD Professor of Medicine MetroHealth neal6084@cox.net 216.778.3901
Shirley Moore, RN, PhD Professor of Nursing and Associate Dean for Research CWRU shirley.moore@case.edu 216.368.5978
James Spilsbury, PhD Director, Center for Clinical Investigation Academic Core CWRU james.spilsbury@case.edu 216.368.7559
Mike Kattan, PhD Chairman, Department of Quantitative Health Sciences Cleveland Clinic kattanm@ccf.org 216.444.0584
Clara Pelfrey, PhD Director, Program Evaluation CWRU clara.pelfrey@case.edu 216.368.6478

TL1 Training Program

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Clifford Harding, MD Program Director CWRU clifford.harding@case.edu 216.368.3611
Kathy Schultz Administrative Director CWRU kathryn.schultz@case.edu 216.368.8739
Crista Moeller Program and Recruiting Coordinator CWRU crista.moeller@case.edu 216.368.3404

Pilot Programs

Pilot Coordinator

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Billie Kyriakides Assistant Director CWRU billie.kyriakides@case.edu 216.368.0840

WebGrants Support

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carolyn Apperson-Hansen, MSTAT Research Concierge CWRU webgrants-support@case.edu 216.368.0035

Research Resources

Research Concierge Service

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carolyn Apperson-Hansen, MSTAT Research Concierge CWRU carolyn.apperson-hansen@case.edu 216.368.0035

Pure Experts

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Clara Pelfrey, PhD Director, Program Evaluation CWRU clara.pelfrey@case.edu 216.368.6478
Jeno Mozes Technical Support CWRU jeno.mozes@case.edu 216.368.4145
Shannon Swiatkowski Manager, Administrative Operations CWRU shannon.swiatkowski@case.edu 216.368.7551

Data Analytics

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Gerald Beck, PhD Director Cleveland Clinic backg@ccf.org 216.444.9927
Douglas Gunzler, PhD, MA Co-Director MetroHealth dgunzler@metrohealth.org 216.778.2764
Sara Debanne, PhD Co-Director CWRU sara.debanne@case.edu 216.368.3895

Program Evaluation

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Clara Pelfrey, PhD Director, Program Evaluation CWRU clara.pelfrey@case.edu 216.368.6478

Language Translation Services

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Katrice Cain, MA, PC Program Development Manager MetroHealth kcain@metrohealth.org 216.778.8467

Informatics

REDCap

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Sheree Hemphill Research Recruitment Informaticist CWRU sheree.hemphill@case.edu 216.844.1546
Charles Trunick Research Recruitment Informaticist Cleveland Clinic trunicc@cff.org 216.445.6933
Todd Sarbach Research Recruitment Informaticist MetroHealth csarbach@metrohealth.org 216.778.3330

CLEARPATH & SHED

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478
Jill Barnholtz-Sloan, PhD Co-Director CWRU jill.barnholtz-sloan@case.edu 216.368.1506

Explorys

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Timothy Crone, MD, FACP, SFHM Medical Director, Enterprise Business Intelligence & Enterprise Information Management & Analytics Medical Operations Cleveland Clinic cronet@ccf.org 216.636.7533
Charles Trunick Research/Recruitment Informaticist Cleveland Clinic trunicc@ccf.org 216.445.6933
Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L Executive Director, Health and Patient-Focused Research Cleveland Clinic bhasinc@ccf.org 216.444.5113
David Kaelber, MD, PhD, MPH Chief Medical Informatics Officer and Vice-President of Health Informatics MetroHealth dkaelber@metrohealth.org 216.778.2637
Todd Sarbach Research/Recruitment Informaticist MetroHealth csarbach@metrohealth.org 216.778.3330
Donna Gattis Sr. Clinical Applications Analyst, Research IT University Hospitals donna.gattis@uhhospitals.org 615.969.2265

Institute for Computational Biology

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478

Digital Medicine

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Amy Sheon, PhD, MPH Executive Director, Urban Health Initiative CWRU amy.sheon@case.edu 216.368.0915

TriNetX

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jeno Mozes TriNetX Liaison CWRU jeno.mozes@case.edu 216.368.4145

Secure Research Environment

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478
Amy Merlino, MD Enterprise Chief Medical Information Officer Cleveland Clinic merlina@ccf.org  
David Kaelber, MD, PhD, MPH Chief Medical Informatics Officer and Vice-President of Health Informatics MetroHealth dkaelber@metrohealth.org 216.778.2637

Health Data Matters

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Amy Sheon, PhD, MPH Executive Director, Urban Health Initiative CWRU amy.sheon@case.edu 216.368.0915

Community Engagement

Prevention Research Center for Health Neighborhoods (PRCHN)

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Elaine Borawski, PhD Director and Principal Investigator CWRU elaine.borawski@case.edu 216.368.1024
Sue Flocke, PhD Associate Director CWRU susan.flocke@case.edu 216.368.3887
Erika S. Trapl, PhD Associate Director CWRU erika.trapl@case.edu 216.368.0098
Darcy Freedman, MPH, PhD Associate Director CWRU darcy.freedman@case.edu 216.368.3060

Special Populations

Name Title Institution Email Phone
W.H. Wilson Tang, MD Director, Hub Research Capacity Cleveland Clinic tangw@ccf.org 216.444.2121
Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L Executive Director, Health and Patient-Focused Research Cleveland Clinic bhasin@ccf.org 216.444.5113
Nora Singer, MD Site Director, Hub Research Capacity MetroHealth nsinger@metrohealth.org 216.778.2323
Grace McComsey, MD, FIDSA Site Director, Hub Research Capacity University Hospitals grace.mccomsey@uhhospitals.org 216.844.3607
Katherine Dell, MD Director, Clinical and Translational Research, Pediatric Institute Cleveland Clinic dellk@ccf.org 216.444.6123

Industry Collaboration

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Mark Chance, PhD Vice Dean for Research CWRU mark.chance@case.edu 216.368.0291
Anne DeChant, MS, MBA Assistant Director, Office of Translation and Innovation CWRU anne.dechant@case.edu 216.368.8867

Urban Health Initiative

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Amy Sheon, PhD, MPH Executive Director, Urban Health Initiative CWRU amy.sheon@case.edu 216.368.0915

Child Health

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Kristie Ross, MD Clinical Director of the Division of Pulmonology, Allergy, Immunology and Sleep Medicine University Hospitals kristie.ross@uhhospitals.org 216.844.3267

First Year Cleveland

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Bernadette Kerrigan, MSSA, LISW, SPHR Executive Director CWRU bernadette.kerrigan@case.edu 216.368.6870
Amy Neumann Community Relations and Communications Sr. Director CWRU amy.neumann@case.edu 216.368.4837
Erica Chambers Community Development and Health Equity Sr. Program Director CWRU erica.chambers@case.edu