Contact Us

CTSC Program Contact Info

Address:

Case Western Reserve University
Clinical and Translational Science Collaborative
School of Medicine, BRB 109
10900 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, OH 44106-4961
216.368.7551 | Fax 216.368.0972
ctsc-administrator@case.edu

Administration

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Michael Konstan, MD Principal Investigator CWRU michael.konstan@case.edu 216.368.3731
Shannon Swiatkowski, MS Senior Director CWRU shannon.swiatkowski@case.edu 216.368.7551
Zina Hempstead Manager of Finance CWRU zina.hempstead@case.edu 216.368.2567

Trial Innovation Network Hub Liaison Team

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Kristie Ross, MD Co-Medical Director University Hospitals kristie.ross@uhhospitals.org  
Lara Jehi, MD Co-Medical Director Cleveland Clinic jehil@ccf.org  
Noreen Roman, MT(ASCP), MBA Manager, DCRU University Hospitals noreen.roman@uhhospitals.org 216.844.4720

Clinical Study Resources

Clinical Study Resources Team

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Joan Booth, RN Director, Research Operations Cleveland Clinic boothj@ccf.org  
June Cassano Administrative Director, Center for Clinical Research Cleveland Clinic cassanj@ccf.org  
Carrie O'Neill Manager, Research Integration and Education University Hospitals Carrie.O'Neill@UHhospitals.org 216.286.2283
Noreen Roman, MT(ASCP), MBA Manager, Dahms Clinical Research Unit University Hospitals noreen.roman@uhhospitals.org 216.844.4720

ResearchMatch

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carrie O'Neill Manager, Research Integration and Education University Hospitals Carrie.O'Neill@UHhospitals.org 216.286.2283

Regulatory & Compliance

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Philip Cola, PhD Associate Director, Academic Affairs CWRU philip.cola@case.edu 216.368.6932
Joan Schenkel, MS Associate Vice President for Research CWRU joan.schenkel@case.edu 216.368.4268
Beth Hagesfeld Manager, Human Research Protection Program University Hospitals Elizabeth.Hagesfeld@uhhospitals.org 216.844.7388
Carey Gorden, JD, MA Manager, Human Research Protection Program MetroHealth cgorden@metrohealth.org 216.778.2021
Joan Booth Director, Research Operations Cleveland Clinic boothj@ccf.org  
Kim Volarcik Executive Director, Research Compliance CWRU kimberly.volarcik@case.edu 216.368.0134

SMART IRB

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Carey Gorden, JD, MA Manager, Human Research Protection Program MetroHealth cgorden@metrohealth.org 216.778.2021

Education and Training

Research Education

Data Safety and Monitoring, HIPAA, and more

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Ellen Divoky Research Concierge CWRU ellen.divoky@case.edu 216.368.5976

KL2 Training Program

For general information about the program, please contact:

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Beth Spyke, MPA KL2 Research Education & Training Program Manager Cleveland Clinic spykeb@ccf.org 216.444.2702

Key Staff Members

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Raed Dweik, MD Program Director Cleveland Clinic dweikr@ccf.org 216.445.5763
Alfred Connors, MD Sr. Vice President and Chief Quality Officer MetroHealth aconnors@metrohealth.org 216.778.8266
Neal Dawson, MD Professor of Medicine MetroHealth neal6084@cox.net 216.778.3901
Shirley Moore, RN, PhD Professor of Nursing and Associate Dean for Research CWRU shirley.moore@case.edu 216.368.5978
James Spilsbury, PhD Director, Center for Clinical Investigation Academic Core CWRU james.spilsbury@case.edu 216.368.7559
Mike Kattan, PhD Chairman, Department of Quantitative Health Sciences Cleveland Clinic kattanm@ccf.org 216.444.0584
Clara Pelfrey, PhD Director, Program Evaluation CWRU clara.pelfrey@case.edu 216.368.6478

TL1 Training Program

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Clifford Harding, MD Program Director CWRU clifford.harding@case.edu 216.368.3611
Diane Dowd, PhD Administrative Director CWRU diane.dowd@case.edu 216.368.2674

Pilot Programs

Pilot Coordinator and InfoReady Support

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Billie Edgar Assistant Director CWRU billie@case.edu 216.368.0840

Research Resources

Research Concierge Service

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Ellen Divoky Research Concierge CWRU ellen.divoky@case.edu 216.368.0035

Quality Assurance

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Ellen Divoky Quality Assurance/Quality Control CWRU ellen.divoky@case.edu 216.368.0035

Research Methods & Study Design

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Gerald Beck, PhD Director Cleveland Clinic beckg@ccf.org 216.444.9927
Douglas Gunzler, PhD, MA Co-Director MetroHealth dgunzler@metrohealth.org 216.778.2764
Curtis Tatsuoka, PhD Co-Director CWRU curtis.tatsuoka@case.edu 216.368.6724

Program Evaluation

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Clara Pelfrey, PhD Director, Program Evaluation CWRU clara.pelfrey@case.edu 216.368.6478

Spanish Translation Services

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Anna Thornton Matos, MPH Project Director CWRU abt11@case.edu 216.368.5776

Entrepreneurship

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Mark Chance, PhD Vice Dean for Research CWRU mark.chance@case.edu 216.368.0291
Ofer Reizes, PhD NCAI Director for Skills Development Cleveland Clinic reizeso@ccf.org 216.444.8323

Informatics

REDCap

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Sheree Hemphill Research Recruitment Informaticist CWRU sheree.hemphill@case.edu 216.844.1546
Charles Trunick Research Recruitment Informaticist Cleveland Clinic trunicc@cff.org 216.445.6933
Kimberly Schach Research Recruitment Informaticist MetroHealth kschach@metrohealth.org 216.778.7992

CLEARPATH & SHED

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478
Jill Barnholtz-Sloan, PhD Co-Director CWRU jill.barnholtz-sloan@case.edu 216.368.1506

Explorys

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Timothy Crone, MD, FACP, SFHM Medical Director, Enterprise Business Intelligence & Enterprise Information Management & Analytics Medical Operations Cleveland Clinic cronet@ccf.org 216.636.7533
Charles Trunick Research/Recruitment Informaticist Cleveland Clinic trunicc@ccf.org 216.445.6933
Charlotte Bhasin, MOT, OTR/L Executive Director, Health and Patient-Focused Research Cleveland Clinic bhasinc@ccf.org 216.444.5113
David Kaelber, MD, PhD, MPH Chief Medical Informatics Officer and Vice-President of Health Informatics MetroHealth dkaelber@metrohealth.org 216.778.2637
Janeen Leon Assistant Director Clinical Research Informatics MetroHealth jleon@metrohealth.org  
Donna Gattis Sr. Clinical Applications Analyst, Research IT University Hospitals donna.gattis@uhhospitals.org 615.969.2265

Institute for Computational Biology

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478

TriNetX

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Regina Casselberry Clinical Research Center University Hospitals Regina.Casselberry@UHhospitals.org  
David Kaelber, MD, PhD, MPH Chief Medical Informatics Officer and Vice-President of Health Informatics MetroHealth dkaelber@metrohealth.org 216.778.2637

Secure Research Environment

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Jonathan Haines, PhD Chair, Department of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences CWRU jonathan.haines@case.edu 216.368.2478
David Kaelber, MD, PhD, MPH Chief Medical Informatics Officer and Vice-President of Health Informatics MetroHealth dkaelber@metrohealth.org 216.778.2637

Community and Collaboration

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Elaine Borawski, PhD Component Lead CWRU elaine.borawski@case.edu 216.368.1024
Shirley Moore, PhD, RN, FAAN Professor CWRU shirley.moore@case.edu 216.368.5978
Darcy Freedman, PhD, MPH Professor CWRU darcy.freedman@case.edu 216.368.3060
Kurt Stange, MD, PhD Professor CWRU kurt.stange@case.edu 216.368.6297
Mark Chance, PhD Component Co-Lead CWRU mark.chance@case.edu 216.368.4406
Heidi Gullett, MD, MPH Assistant Professor CWRU heidi.gullett@case.edu 216.368.0776
James Werner, PhD, MSSA Associate Professor CWRU james.werner@case.edu 216.368.2996
Anna Thornton Matos, MPH Project Director CWRU abt11@case.edu 216.368.5776
Meredith Goodwin, PhD Team Science Coordinator CWRU meredith.goodwin@case.edu 216.368.0337
Briana McIntosh, MPH, CPH Stakeholder Engagement Coordinator CWRU briana.mcintosh@case.edu 216.368.6571
Rachel Gardenhire, MS Research & Data Analyst CWRU rachel.gardenhire@case.edu 216.368.5744
Anne DeChant, MS, MBA Executive Director, Office of Translation & Innovation CWRU anne.dechant@case.edu 216.368.8867

Industry Collaboration

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Mark Chance, PhD Vice Dean for Research CWRU mark.chance@case.edu 216.368.0291
Anne DeChant, MS, MBA Executive Director, Office of Translation and Innovation CWRU anne.dechant@case.edu 216.368.8867
Tessianna Misko, PhD Executive Director, EnRICH CWRU tessianna.misko@case.edu 216.368.1158

Child Health

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Kristie Ross, MD Clinical Director of the Division of Pulmonology, Allergy, Immunology and Sleep Medicine University Hospitals kristie.ross@uhhospitals.org 216.844.3267

First Year Cleveland

Name Title Institution Email Phone
Christine Neumann Sr. Director of Community Impact, Continuous Improvement, Evaluation CWRU christine.neumann@case.edu 216.368.4837
Katrice Cain, MA Interim Executive Director CWRU katrice.cain@case.edu