Faculty and Staff: Announcing Vaccination Verification Winners

To Our Faculty and Staff:

I am delighted to announce the winners of last week’s vaccine verification drawing, but first must thank all of those who have uploaded pictures of their vaccine cards since early May.

As of last night, our submissions stood at 8,825—nearly 55 percent of our campus population.

Nearly a fifth of that total comes from the photos we received between announcing the contest Wednesday (June 2) and Friday’s 5 p.m. deadline (June 5).

If you kept up that pace, we could reach the 80 percent mark within six days.

And, who knows, you just might get to claim a prize.

Just ask lecturer Dianne Kube, our faculty vaccine verification winner. This summer, Dianne is marking her 10th year in our biology department by teaching two courses—Microbiology, and Cells and Proteins—and co-teaching a new offering, Pandemics, Past and Present: Interdisciplinary Approaches, with faculty from biology, history, and medicine.

Or you could turn to staff winner Megan Ashwill, associate director of the Office of Student Conduct and Community Standards. Megan joined our Division of Student Affairs three years ago after positions of increasing responsibility in residence life at universities in Florida, Virginia and Illinois. During her time here, she has been trained and served as a Safe Zone Friend, Green Dot Bystander Intervention Program Facilitator, and a Title IX Advisor. 

These two randomly selected winners each will have their choice of $500* or three months parking in an available spot in the campus lot or garage that she selects.**

Please join me in congratulating them.

Meanwhile, we’re going to try to keep our submission momentum continuing by holding another drawing this week. The prizes are the same, and we’ll again pick two employees—one faculty, one staff. The deadline to upload your vaccination card photograph is 5 p.m. Friday, June 11.

For step-by-step instructions on how to submit your card pictures, please visit our COVID-19 website

We’ll announce the winners Monday (June 14).

Carolyn Gregory 
Vice President for Human Resources

* The cash awarded is taxable.
** The selected location must have a space available. In addition, the winners still have to pay the monthly rate of their current spot (or, if they do not now park on campus, the rate for the selected spot).