University Closings & Holidays

Fiscal Year Master Schedule of University Observed Holidays

Holiday 2018 2019
New Year's Day Mon, Jan 1 Tue, Jan 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Mon, Jan 15 Mon, Jan 21
Memorial Day Mon, May 28 Mon, May 27
Independence Day Wed, Jul 4 Thu, Jul 4
Labor Day Mon, Sep 3 Mon, Sep 2
Thanksgiving Day Thu, Nov 22 Thu, Nov 28
Day After Thanksgiving Fri, Nov 23 Fri, Nov 29
Christmas Eve Mon, Dec. 24 Tue. Dec. 24
Christmas Day Tue, Dec. 25 Wed, Dec. 25
Winter Break* Mon, Dec 24 - Fri, Dec 28 Mon, Dec 23 - Fri, Dec 27
Day Before New Year's Eve   Mon, Dec 30
New Year's Eve Mon, Dec 31 Tues, Dec 31

Case Western Reserve University is closed for business on the following holidays:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day
  • * Winter Break
  • New Year's Eve
  • University-designated holiday(s)

* The university is closed for Winter Break the week between Christmas Eve and New Year's Day. These are not considered holidays for compensation purposes, unless explicitly identified as a holiday above.

Time Off for Holidays

  1. Active employees have the time off for the observed holiday unless otherwise scheduled. When the holiday falls on a Saturday, the university will observe the holiday on the preceding Friday. When the holiday falls on a Sunday, the university will observe the holiday on the following Monday. Employees who work Monday through Friday will have the Friday or Monday off. Employees whose regular work day may be either Saturday or Sunday will have either the observed holiday or the actual holiday off. Scheduling of the day off will depend on necessary coverage and team coordination of that coverage.
  2. In the event that the observed holiday falls on the employee's normal day off, all full-time employees may schedule a paid day off within two weeks preceding or following the holiday.
  3. Exempt staff who are required to work on the observed holiday, will have the same amount of time off in the preceding or following two weeks.
  4. Temporary employees will have the time off without pay.

Personal Floating Holiday

  1. Active full-time and part-time employees are eligible to receive one (1) personal floating holiday each fiscal year after successful completion of their Orientation period.
  2. Eligible employees must obtain approval in advance when requesting a personal floating holiday. Supervisors have the authority to approve or deny the request.
  3. An unused personal floating holiday may not be carried over to the next fiscal year.
  4. Employees will not receive compensation for an unused personal floating holiday. For example, an unused personal floating holiday is not included in termination pay calculations.

Compensation For Holidays

  1. Full-time and part-time employees will be compensated at their normal rate of pay for their regular hours if the observed holiday falls on the employee's scheduled work day or during paid sick or vacation time.
  2. Holiday pay will apply to employees on paid leave.
  3. Nonexempt employees who are required to work on their scheduled holiday will be compensated at their normal rate of pay for the holiday plus one and one-half times their base rate for the amount of time worked.
  4. If temporary employees are required to work, they will receive straight time pay for the hours worked. Otherwise, temporary employees are excluded from holiday pay.

Other Closings/Emergencies

The university may announce other closings from time to time relating to national or regional celebration or as a result of inclement weather or other unusual circumstances.  If possible, these closings will be announced in advance or announced at the time of the closing through the President's Office and using local authorized media. See Emergency Preparedness and Workforce Coverage Policy II-18.