Professional Development Training

Our center focuses on the professional development needs of Case Western Reserve University staff and faculty. Most training sessions are presented in a virtual format, focused on upskilling and providing tools for professional success to individual contributors and supervisors.

See the training titles and dates below for our current training offerings. Click the "Training Title" to register for the virtual training session through CampusGroups using CWRU Single Sign-on.

Employee Training Workshops:

Staff and faculty are welcome at all training workshops, though certain training sessions may focus more on a supervision perspective. Certain classes will count towards our Employee Supervision Certificate, but these classes may be beneficial to non-supervisors, and especially aspiring supervisors.

*Does not count towards the Employee Supervision Certificate.

March 2024
  1. Effective Feedback in the Workplace: Tuesday, March 5, 10:00am - 11:00am
  2. Time Management 101 (Goals and Priorities): Thursday, March 7, 10:30am - 11:30am
  3. Time Management 201 (Scheduling, Interruptions, & Procrastination): Wednesday, March 13, 10:30am - 11:30am
  4. HR Policy Overview: Thursday, March 14, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
  5. Disability Accommodations at CWRU: Friday, March 15, 10:00am - 11:00am
  6. Navigating a Multi-Generational Workplace: Thursday, March 21, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
  7. *Individual Strategies to Recognize & Prevent Burnout: Friday, March 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm
  8. Employee Onboarding & Orientation Period: Tuesday, March 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm
  9. Team Building: Thursday, March 28, 12:30pm - 1:30pm 
April 2024
  1. Team Conflict: For Supervisors & Leaders: Thursday, April 4, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
  2. Delegation & Accountability: Thursday, April 11, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
  3. Facilitating Collaborative & Productive Meetings: Monday, April 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
  4. Positive Corrective Action Process at CWRU: Tuesday, April 16, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
  5. Pregnancy Accommodations at CWRU: Thursday, April 18, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
  6. Motivating & Mentoring Employees (In Person Workshop): Monday, April 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm
  7. Immigration Hiring Policies and Practices at CWRU: Thursday, April 25, 10:00am - 11:00am
  8. *The Impact of Burnout on Organizations: Friday, April 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm
May 2024
  1. Termination Policy at CWRU: Tuesday, May 7, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
  2. Pronoun Workshop: Wednesday, May 8, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
  3. *Overcoming the Imposter Phenomenon: Thursday, May 9, 11am - 12pm
  4. Shaping Workplace Culture (In Person Workshop): Friday, May 10, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
  5. Performance Management Process: Monday, May 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm  
  6. Religious Accommodations at CWRU: Tuesday, May 14, 11:00am - 12:00pm
  7. Hybrid Work Culture & Management: Thursday, May 16, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
  8. Compensation Guidance: Monday, May 20, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
  9. Managing Difficult Conversations at Work (In Person Workshop): Thursday, May 23, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

All in person workshops will take place in Adelbert Hall. See the Campus Groups registration for more information. 

On Demand Training

 Essentials of Management Series 

 Building a Culture of Customer Service Series 

Note that on demand training does not count towards the Employee Supervision Certificate.

Employees can register for Upcoming Live Impact Webinars or watch Past Impact Webinar Recordings online. These classes do not count towards the Employee Supervision Certificate. 

Submit Your Suggestions!

We are always making additions to our offerings and welcome your feedback on desired topics. If you have a suggestion for future training topics you may submit them here at any time. Please note this is an anonymous submission. If you require follow up, please email askhr@case.edu with your inquiry.

More Information

Visit our FAQ page to learn more. Reach out to the PDC at AskHR@case.edu with any other questions.