GI Cancer Genetics

Program Focus Areas

The GI Cancer Genetics Program is organized around three broad scientific Focus Areas:

  • Discovery and clinical translation of genetic alterations in GI cancers
  • Discovery and clinical translation of epigenetic changes in GI cancers
  • Development of novel methods and models to facilitate basic and translational GI cancer research

These Focus Areas intersect with a specific disease emphasis on gastrointestinal cancers, particularly colon cancers and adenocarcinomas of the esophagus, but have also led to significant advances in understanding other tumors including human sarcomas, brain and breast tumors.

Program Information

The leaders of the GI Cancer Genetics Program established an internationally recognized team science-oriented program deciphering the genetic origins of cancers with a focus particularly in colon cancers and adenocarcinomas of the esophagus, but have also led to significant advances in understanding other tumors including human sarcomas.

The Program is supported by numerous multi-investigator grants, including a newly awarded GI SPORE, and program members have made multiple seminal observations and discoveries that include finding: causative genes for colon cancer, a molecular screening test for colon cancer, and alterations in histone methylation at target gene enhancers that acts as an epigenetic signature of colon cancer.

Program Members

Hawwa Alao, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine
hawwa.alao@va.gov

David Bajor, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine
david.bajor@UHhospitals.org

Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan, PhD
Associate Director for Data Sciences
Professor, Population and Quantitative Health Sciences
jsb42@case.edu

Nathan A. Berger, MD
Director, Center for Science, Health and Society
Professor, Medicine
nab@case.edu

Andrew Blum, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine
aeb27@case.edu

Jonathan Mark Brown, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine
brownm5@ccf.org

Amitabh Chak, MD, MS
Professor, Medicine
axc22@case.edu

Mark R. Chance, PhD
Vice Dean for Research
Professor, Medicine
mark.chance@case.edu

Jan Claesen, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine
claesej@ccf.org

Fabio Cominelli, MD, PhD
Professor, Medicine
Chief, Gastroenterology
fxc90@case.edu

Stephen Fink, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology) 
stephen.fink@case.edu

Claudio Fiocchi, MD
Professor, Molecular Medicine
fiocchc@ccf.org

Kishore Guda, DVM, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
gkishore@yahoo.com

Emina Huang, MD
Professor, Surgery
huange2@ccf.org

Sudha K. Iyengar, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Population and Quantitative Health Sciences
sudha.iyengar@case.edu

Matthew Kalady, MD
Professor, Surgery
Chair, Hematology and Medical Oncology
kaladym@ccf.org

Mehmet Koyutürk, PhD
Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
mxk331@case.edu

Thomas LaFramboise, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
txl80@case.edu

Sanford D. Markowitz, MD, PhD
Co-Leader, GI Cancer Genetics Program
Professor, Medicine
sxm10@case.edu

Alexander Miron, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
alexander.miron@case.edu

Brian P. Rubin, MD, PhD
Professor, Pathology
rubinb2@ccf.org

Peter C. Scacheri, PhD
Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
pxs183@case.edu

Paul J. Tesar, PhD
Associate Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
paul.tesar@case.edu

Vinay Varadan, PhD
Assistant Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
vxv89@case.edu

Martina L. Veigl, PhD
Associate Professor, General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
mlv2@case.edu

Zhenghe John Wang, PhD
Co-Leader, GI Cancer Genetics Program
Professor, Genetics and Genome Sciences
zxw22@case.edu

Joseph E. Willis, MD
Professor, Pathology
joseph.willis@case.edu

Jordan Winter, MD
Associate Professor, Surgery
jordan.winter@UHhospitals.org

Anthony Wynshaw-Boris, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair, Genetics and Genome Sciences
anthony.wynshaw-boris@case.edu

Lan Zhou, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Pathology
lan.zhou@case.edu