PhD Trainers

Location Key

  • BRB - Biomedical Research Building
  • IP - Institute of Pathology
  • WRB - Wolstein Research Building
  • SOM - School of Medicine
  • LRI - Lerner Research Institute at the Cleveland Clinic
  • MHMC - MetroHealth Medical Center
  • RBC - Rainbow Babies & Childrens Hospital
  • TCC - Taussig Cancer Center at CCF
  • UHCMC - University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
  • Wood - Harland G. Wood Building
  • VAMC - Louis Stokes VA Medical Center

Track Key

  • CBTP - Cancer Biology Training Program
  • ITP - Immunology Training Program
  • MCBDTP - Molecular and Cellular Basis of Disease Training Program
  • MS-A - Plan A MS
  • MS-B - Plan B MS

Active PhD Trainers

Faculty with potential slots for PhD students. 

Name Tracks Email Department & Location
Abbott, Derek MD, PhD CBTP, ITP, MCBDTP derek.abbott@case.edu Pathology
WRB 6533
Adoro, Stanley, PhD CBTP, ITP stanley.adoro@case.edu

Pathology

Almasan, Alex PhD CBTP almasaa@ccf.org Cancer Biology
LRI NB40
Anthony, Jr., Donald D. MD, PhD ITP donald.anthony@case.edu Rheumatology
BRB 1028
Bonomo, Robert MD ITP robert.bonomo@case.edu Infectious Diseases
VAMC
Boom, W. Henry MD ITP w.boom@case.edu Infectious Diseases
BRB 1031
Boron, Walter, PhD MCBDTP walter.boron@case.edu Physiology & Biophysics
Brady-Kalnay, Susann PhD CBTP susann.brady-kalnay@case.edu Molecular Biology & Microbiology
SOM W214B
Canaday, David MD ITP david.canaday@case.edu Medicine, Division of Infectious Disease
BRB 10th Floor

Chakrapani, Sudha, PhD

MCBDTP MS-B sudha.chakrapani@case.edu Physiology & Biophysics
Chance, Mark R. PhD ITP mark.chance@case.edu Vice Dean for Research
BRB 930
Chen, Shu PhD MCBDTP
shu.chen@case.edu
Pathology
WRB 5533
Cobb, Brian PhD ITP brian.cobb@case.edu Pathology
WRB 6532
Cominelli, Fabio, MD, PhD ITP fabio.cominelli@uhhospitals.org Medicine
Wearn 253A
Cooper, Kevin D. MD CBTP
ITP
kevin.cooper@case.edu Dermatology
Lakeside 3500
Danielpour, David PhD CBTP david.danielpour@case.edu Cancer Center
WRB 3532
Dent, Arlene, MD, PhD ITP
MS-B
arlene.dent@case.edu Pediatrics/Infectious Diseases and Rheumatology
Distelhorst, Clark MD CBTP clark.distelhorst@case.edu Hematology/Oncology
WRB 3133
Dubyak, George PhD ITP george.dubyak@case.edu Physiology/Biophysics
SOM E535
Eng, Charis MD, PhD, FACP CBTP engc@ccf.org Cancer Genomic Medicine
LRI NE50
Erzurum, Serpil, MD ITP
MS-B
erzurus@ccf.org Inflammation & Immunity
CCF
Fairchild, Robert L. PhD ITP fairchr@ccf.org Immunology
LRI NB379
Finke, James H. PhD ITP finke@ccf.org Immunology
LRI NE40
Fox, Paul L. PhD MCBDTP foxp@ccf.org Cell Biology
LRI NC10
Gerson, Stanton MD CBTP stanton.gerson@case.edu Hematology/Oncology
WRB 1422
Ghannoum, Mahmoud, PhD MS-B mag3@case.edu Dermatology
Greenfield, Edward M. PhD CBTP
ITP
MCBDTP
edward.greenfield@case.edu Orthopaedics
BRB 331
Gupta, Neetu, PhD ITP guptan@ccf.org Immunology
LRI NE40
Harding, Clifford V. MD, PhD ITP clifford.harding@case.edu Pathology
WRB 6522
Hazen, Stanley MD, PhD MCBDTP hazens@ccf.org Molecular Medicine
LRI NE10
Hise, Amy, MD

ITP
MS-B

axh48@case.edu Pathology
Huang, Alex MD, PhD CBTP
ITP
alex.y.huang@case.edu Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
WRB 6528
Huang, Emina MD CBTP huange2@ccf.org Stem Cell Biology & Regenerative Medicine
LRI
Huang, Stanley, PhD ITP
MS-B
  Pathology
Jackson, Mark PhD CBTP mark.jackson@case.edu Pathology
WRB 3134
Jain, Mukesh, MD MCBDTP mukesh.jain2@case.edu Case Cardiovascular Institute
WRB 4522
Karn, Jonathan, MD, PhD ITP
MS-B
jxk153@case.edu Molecular Biology & Microbiology
Kazura, James W. MD ITP james.kazura@case.edu Center for Global Health
BRB 431
Keri, Ruth PhD CBTP ruth.keri@case.edu Pharmacology
Wood RT.308
King, Christopher MD, PhD ITP christopher.king@case.edu Center for Global Health
BRB 421
Kong, Qingzhong, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
qxk2@case.edu Pathology
Lathia, Justin, PhD CBTP
MS-B
lathiaa@ccf.org

Cellular & Molecular Medicine
CCF

Lederman, Michael MD ITP michael.lederman@case.edu Infectious Diseases
Foley 301D
Letterio, John MD CBTP
ITP
john.letterio@uhhospitals.org Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
RBC 340
Levine, Alan PhD CBTP
ITP
alan.levine@case.edu Gastroenterology
BRB 426
Li, Xiaoxia PhD ITP lix@ccf.org Immunology
LRI NE40
Maciejewski, Jaroslaw MD, PhD CBTP maciejj@ccf.org Taussig Cancer Center
R35
Manor, Danny PhD CBTP
MCBDTP
danny.manor@case.edu Nutrition
Wood 600
Markowitz, Sanford MD, PhD CBTP sanford.markowitz@case.edu Hematology/Oncology
WRB 3128
McCrae, Keith MD CBTP mccraek@ccf.org Hematology/Oncology
Taussig Cancer Center CCF
Mears, Jason, PhD ITP
MS-B
jason.mears@case.edu Pharmacology
Mei, Lin, PhD

MCBDTP
MS-B

lin.mei@case.edu Neurosciences
Min, Booki DVM, PhD ITP minb@ccf.org Immunology
LRI NB30
Montano, Monica PhD CBTP monica.montano@case.edu Pharmacology
Wood W.367
Nagy, Laura, PhD MCBDTP
ITP
MS-B
nagyl3@ccf.org

Inflammation & Immunity
CCF

Parameswaran, Reshmi, PhD CBTP reshmi.parameswaran@case.edu Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Pieper, Andrew, MD, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
andrew.pieper@uhhospitals.org Psychiatry
Pizarro, Theresa, PhD ITP theresa.pizarro@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5534
Popkin, Daniel, MD, PhD ITP
MS-B
  Dermatology
Qi, Xin 
PhD
MCBDTP
MS-B
xin.qi2@case.edu Physiology & Biophysics
Ramakrishnan, Parameswaran, PhD ITP parameswaran.ramakrishnan@case.edu Pathology
WRB 6526
Ramirez-Bergeron, Diana, PhD MCBDTP diana.ramirez@case.edu Cardiovascular Research Institute
WRB 4532
Safar, Jiri, MD MCBDTP jiri.safar@case.edu Pathology
IP 406
Scacheri, Peter C. PhD CBTP peter.scacheri@case.edu Genetics
BRB 627
Schaffer, Ashleigh, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
axs1440@case.edu Genetics & Genome Sciences
Schiemann, William P. PhD CBTP william.schiemann@case.edu Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
WRB 2131
Schmaier, Alvin MD CBTP alvin.schmaier@case.edu Hematology/Oncology
WRB 2130
Sekaly, Rafick-Pierre, PhD ITP
MS-B
rxs745@case.edu Pathology
Sen, Ganes PhD ITP seng@ccf.org Immunology
LRI NE20
Sen Gupta, Anirban, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
anirban.sengupta@case.edu Biomedical Engineering
Sieg, Scott PhD ITP scott.sieg@case.edu Infectious Diseases
Wood G38B
Silver, Jerry, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
jxs10@case.edu Neurosciences
Silverman, Robert PhD CBTP silverr@ccf.org Cancer Biology
LRI NB40
Smith, Jonathan PhD MCBDTP smithj4@ccf.org Cell Biology
LRI NC10
Stark, George R. PhD, FRS CBTP
ITP
starkg@ccf.org Cancer Biology
LRI, NE2-306
Subauste, Carlos MD ITP carlos.subauste@case.edu Ophthalmology
IP 115
Surewicz, Witold K. PhD MCBDTP witold.surewicz@case.edu Physiology/Biophysics
Wood E643
Tesar, Paul, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
paul.tesar@case.edu Genetics & Genome Sciences
Tilton, John "Chip", PhD MS-A john.c.tilton@case.edu Nutrition
Trapp, Bruce, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
trappb@ccf.org Neurosciences
CCF
Valujskikh, Anna
PhD
ITP
MS-B
valuysa@ccf.org Inflammation & Immunity
CCF
Wald, David MD, PhD CBTP
ITP
MCBDTP
david.wald@case.edu Pathology
WRB 3530
Wang, Bingcheng PhD CBTP
MCBDTP
bingcheng.wang@case.edu Pharmacology
Rammelkamp Center for Research, R421
Wang, Xinglong, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
xxw28@case.edu Pathology
Wang, Zhenghe PhD CBTP zhenghe.wang@case.edu Genetics
WRB 3120
Wearsch, Pamela, PhD MS-A
MS-B
paw28@case.edu Pathology
Wynshaw-Boris
Anthony, MD, PhD
MCBDTP
MS-B
ajw168@case.edu Genetics & Genome Sciences
Xiao, Sam PhD ITP tsan.xiao@case.edu Pathology
WRB 6533
Xiong, Wen-Cheng, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
wxx119@case.edu Neurosciences
Zhou, Lan, MD CBTP lan.zhou@case.edu Pathology
WRB 6527
Zhu, Xiongwei PhD MCBDTP xiongwei.zhu@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5122
Ziats, Nicholas, PhD MS-A
MS-B
npz@case.edu Pathology
Zigmond, Richard, PhD MCBDTP
MS-B
rez@case.edu Neurosciences
Zimmerman, Peter PhD ITP peter.zimmerman@case.edu Center for Global Health
BRB 426
Zou, Wen-Quan MD, PhD MCBDTP wenquan.zou@case.edu Pathology
IP 403

Other Program Faculty

Includes program advisors, teaching faculty and trainers not currently accepting new students.

Name Tracks Email  Department & Location
Anderson, James M. MD, PhD MCBDTP james.anderson@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5105
Emancipator, Steven N. MD
Emeritus
ITP steven.emancipator@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5134
Gambetti, Pierluigi MD MCBDTP pierluigi.gambetti@case.edu Pathology
IP 419
Greenspan, Neil S. MD, PhD ITP neil.greenspan@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5130
Hamilton, Thomas A. PhD ITP hamiltt@ccf.org Immunology
LRI NB30
Hamlin, Clive PhD ITP
MCBDTP
clive.hamlin@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5529
Huang, Yung PhD
Emeritus
ITP
MCBDTP
yung.huang@uhhospitals.org Pathology
IP 519
Kaplan, David MD, PhD
Emeritus
CBTP
ITP
david.kaplan@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5132
Kong, Qingzhong PhD MCBDTP qingzhong.kong@case.edu Pathology
IP 405
Medof, M. Edward MD, PhD ITP m.medof@case.edu Pathology
IP 301
Meyerson, Howard MD CBTP
ITP
howard.meyerson@case.edu Pathology
Bishop 568
Nedrud, John G. PhD
Emeritus
ITP john.nedrud@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5133
Petersen, Robert PhD
Adjunct Professor
MCBDTP robert.petersen@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5126
Tartakoff, Alan M. PhD MCBDTP alan.tartakoff@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5533
Sy, Man-Sun PhD ITP man-sun.sy@case.edu Pathology
WRB 5131
Veigl, Martina PhD CBTP martina.veigl@case.edu Cancer Center
WRB 3132