Mark Chance, Vice Dean for Research, Named AAAS Fellow

Mark R. Chance, PhD, vice dean for research at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

Chance, elected to the AAAS section on chemistry, was cited “[f]or distinguished contributions in the fields of structural biology and chemistry by advancing technologies of mass spectrometry approaches for the study of protein structure and dynamics.” His research interests include cellular signaling and transport by membrane proteins and new biophysics approaches for drug development.

As vice dean for research, Chance provides support to faculty members and other School of Medicine leaders in defining strategic directions for both basic and clinical research. He received his PhD in biophysics from the University of Pennsylvania in 1986 and his BA in biology from Wesleyan University in 1980. He also studied biochemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1980 until 1984. He was Joseph Wunsch Fellow in biomedical engineering at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and post-doctoral fellow in biophysics at AT&T Bell Labs. His awards include the Hirschl/Weill-Caulier Career Scientist Award and the Naomi Kanof Investigator Award Lectureship and Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Clinical Investigation, awarded by the Society of Investigative Dermatology.

Chance joins 29 other active fellows from Case Western Reserve University, including 25 from the School of Medicine:

Cynthia Beall, PhD, professor of medicine
Walter F. Boron, MD, PhD, professor of physiology and biophysics
Charis Eng, MD, PhD, professor of genetics and genomics
Serpil C. Erzurum, MD, professor of medicine
Thomas Hamilton, PhD, professor of molecular medicine
Clifford V. Harding, MD, PhD, professor of pathology
Stanley Hazen, MD, PhD, professor of molecular medicine
Arthur Heuer, PhD, professor of materials science and engineering
Joe G. Hollyfield, PhD, professor of ophthalmology
Lynn Theresa Landmesser, PhD, professor emeritus of neurosciences
Michael Lederman, MD, professor of medicine
Morton Litt, PhD, professor emeritus of macromolecular sciences and engineering
Vincent M. Monnier, MD, professor of pathology
Timothy W. Nilsen, PhD, professor emeritus of medical sciences
Richard Padgett, PhD, professor of molecular medicine
Alfred A. Rimm, PhD, professor of epidemiology and biostatistics
Roy Ritzmann, PhD, professor of neurosciences
Jonathan D. Smith, MD, professor of molecular medicine
George Stark, PhD, professor emeritus of genetics and genomics
Bruce Trapp, PhD, professor of neurosciences
Qing Wang, PhD, professor of molecular medicine
Scott M. Williams, PhD, professor of epidemiology and biostatistics
Anthony Wynshaw-Boris, MD, PhD, professor of genetics and genomics
Qing Yi, MD, PhD, professor of molecular medicine
Richard E. Zigmond, PhD, professor of neurosciences

This year 391 members have been named fellows “because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.” Chance and the other new fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin (representing science and engineering, respectively) on Saturday, February 18th from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2017 AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

The newest class of AAAS fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of Science on November 25th. The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874.


Founded in 1843, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine is the largest medical research institution in Ohio and is among the nation's top medical schools for research funding from the National Institutes of Health. The School of Medicine is recognized throughout the international medical community for outstanding achievements in teaching. The School's innovative and pioneering Western Reserve2 curriculum interweaves four themes--research and scholarship, clinical mastery, leadership, and civic professionalism--to prepare students for the practice of evidence-based medicine in the rapidly changing health care environment of the 21st century. Nine Nobel Laureates have been affiliated with the School of Medicine.

Annually, the School of Medicine trains more than 800 MD and MD/PhD students and ranks in the top 25 among U.S. research-oriented medical schools as designated by U.S. News & World Report's"Guide to Graduate Education."

The School of Medicine is affiliated with University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center, MetroHealth Medical Center, the Louis Stokes Cleveland Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and the Cleveland Clinic, with which it established the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University in 2002.

Media Contact(s):

Marc Kaplan
Associate Dean
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine