Law School teams earn recognition in regional round of National Moot Court Competition

Judge Willett

On Nov. 20-21, two teams of third-year Case Western Reserve law students competed in the regional round of the National Moot Court Competition. "Team Blue," composed of Maeve Dineen, Paul Willison and Jesse Wynn—and "Team Silver," composed of Amanda Hudson, Carly Koza, and Natalie Lesnick—challenged students from law schools across Ohio in oral argument.

Of the twelve teams that competed in the preliminary rounds of the competition, "Team Silver" emerged as the second-highest-ranking oralist team, moving into the semifinal round. In a close match, "Team Silver" was defeated by Cleveland Marshall, the team which ultimately won the regional competition and which will compete in the national competition in January.

At the close of the competition, "Team Silver" was recognized for excellence in writing. Of the twelve teams competing in the competition, "Team Silver" crafted the second-best brief, losing to the Competition’s host—the Ohio State University Moritz School of Law—by only a quarter of a point.