WFSOM Annual Awards

The Toyoko Yamashita Service Award -  The Toyoko Yamashita Service Award was established in 1997 to honor the memory of Dr. Toyoko Yamashita, a 15-year faculty member of the Department of Pediatrics in Epidemiology and Biostatistics.  Dr. Yamashita was an ardent supporter and mentor to women faculty – she served on the WFSOM steering committee and was its registrar for several years.  This award is presented each year to honor a women faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary service to the Women Faculty of the School of Medicine.  

The Mary Hellerstein Junior Faculty Career Development Award and Helen Evans Mid-Career Faculty Development Awards promote professional development and career advancement for women in Academic Medicine.

The Gender Equity Awards - The American Medical Women’s Association Gender Equity Awards are supported and presented by the WFSOM each year to a clinical and pre-clinical faculty member whom the students feel exemplifies the principle of gender equality in their teaching and who promotes a gender-fair environment for the education and training of physicians.  The recipients of these awards are chosen entirely by the senior graduating medical student body.  

The Humanistic Values in Medicine Award - Given to a graduating woman medical student who best exemplifies the application of humanistic values in medicine through her advocacy of social justice and equity for women and minorities.  WFSOM chooses recipients in collaboration with the Office of Student Affairs.

The President Award - The President Award is a non-monetary award established in 2019. The President of WFSOM offers this award each year to honor and acknowledge a WFSOM member for her unique contribution and exemplary service to WFSOM during the year/president term.

The Pamela B. Davis, MD Ph.D. Senior- Achievement and Professional Development Award - This award further promotes women's careers in Academic Medicine. Applicants must demonstrate excellence in past academic achievements and outstanding potential for a continuing contribution to Academic Medicine commensurate with their professional experience. Evidence of mentoring or other activities promoting the academic careers of others is also expected.

ELAM Award  


2022 Awardees

Toyoko Yamashita Award
Susan Padrino, MD - Case Western Reserve University, School of Medicine

President’s Award
Mamta K. Singh, MD, MS, FACP - Louis Stokes Cleveland Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center

Mary Hellerstein Junior Career Professional Award  
Melinda L. Hsu, MD, MS - University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
Jin E. Kim-Mozeleski, PhD - Case Western Reserve University, School of Medicine

Helen Evans Mid-Career Professional Development Award  
Maya Mattar, MD - Louis Stokes Cleveland Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center, University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center

Pam Davis Senior Faculty Professional Development Award 
Reena Mehra M.D., M.S., F.C.C.P., F.A.A.S.M., F.A.H.A- Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine

Humanistic Values in Medicine Award 
Pooja Podugu, medical student, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

Gender Equity Award 
Laura Mintz, MD - MetroHealth Medical Center
Ester Tseng, MD – MetroHealth Medical Center

ELAM Award  
Ruth A. Keri, Ph.D. - Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Ruth Farrell, MD, MA - Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine