University Awards & Honors

Faculty awards acknowledge excellence in teaching, research, leadership, community engagement, mentorship, and other significant contributions to academia and society. Below is a list of recognitions bestowed upon our faculty for their remarkable contributions to academia, research, and society. To learn more, explore our page on Faculty Awards & Promotions.

The Distinguished University Professor is an honorific title awarded to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of full-time, tenured professors with a distinguished academic record of extraordinary research, scholarship, teaching and service.

Current Recipient:

Fabio Cominelli MD PhD, 2023

Learn more about our Past Recipients.

The Frank and Dorothy Humel Hovorka Prize is awarded to an active or emeritus member of the CWRU faculty in recognition of exceptional achievements in teaching, research, and scholarly service.

The John S. Diekhoff Award is presented to four full-time faculty members who make exemplary contributions to the education and development of graduate students at Case Western Reserve University. 

Current Recipients:

Karla Coburn, 2023

Jason Mears PhD, 2023

Andrew Pieper MD PhD, 2023

Learn more about our Past Recipients.

The Faculty Distinguished Research Award was established in 2013 to recognize those who uphold and build upon Case Western Reserve’s history as an innovative, research-driven institution, and established national and international reputations for their research or creative projects.  

Current Recipient:

Xin Qi PhD, 2023

Learn more about our Past Recipients.

The Wittke Award is presented each year to two Case Western Reserve University faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in undergraduate teaching.

SOM Honors

Explore the School of Medicine's distinguished honors, recognizing exceptional contributions by faculty members in the field of medicine.

Young woman researcher in a white lab coat uses a pipette
WFSOM Annual Awards

Celebrating remarkable achievements of our Women Faculty members.

PhD in Clinical Translational Science (CTS)
SOM Annual Teaching Awards

Presenting numerous annual teaching awards to celebrate excellence in medical education.