Faculty Governance

The Bylaws of the Faculty of Medicine govern the faculty in the Department of Medicine. The current form of governance was established when the bylaws were adopted in 1978. The bylaws describe the governance process and areas of responsibility of the council in detail. The current bylaws were last amended and ratified on December 15, 2021.

The Faculty Council is the primary governing body. Faculty elect their department representatives for the Council; institutional representatives are selected by the faculty at each affiliated hospital; at-large representatives are elected by the full-time and part-time faculty.

Faculty Council Steering Committee

The council meets at least five times each year, with an agenda set by the Faculty Council Steering Committee, composed of the past Council Chair, current Council Chair, and Chair-Elect, along with five members of the Council as elected by the rest of the Council. The Dean includes the Chair of the Faculty Council on his leadership committee, linking the faculty to the medical school's administrative leadership.

The Bylaws describe the governance process and areas of responsibility of the Council in detail. A roster of the membership of the Faculty Council and standing committees is published each summer. Darin Croft, PhD,  Professor of Anatomy is the current 2021-2022 Chair of Faculty Council.  

The standing committees of the Faculty of Medicine are listed below. Each reports at least once per year to the Faculty Council.

Committee on Admissions

Committee on Bylaws

Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure

Committee on Biomedical Research

Committee on Budget, Finance and Compensation

Committee on Medical Education

Committee on Students

Committee on Lecture

Committee on Nominations and Elections

Committee on Women and Minority Faculty

Committee on Graduate Programs Review

  • Committee on Graduate Programs Review
  • Committee on Graduate Programs Review Members 2022-2023

Ad Hoc Committees

Ad hoc committees carry out special tasks for the faculty or Dean, as needed, and may be appointed by the Faculty Council, by the Faculty Council and the Dean together, or by the Dean alone. Copies of the official charges to the standing committees are available in the Office of Faculty Affairs.

Faculty may find serving on committees rewarding. Service offers the opportunity to work together with other faculty members from different disciplines and hospitals. Faculty wishing to be nominated for election to a standing committee should notify their department chair and look out for the emailed announcement each spring soliciting those willing to stand for election. Please see the template for a one-page (maximum) Statement of Interest. The final selection of names to appear on the slate of candidates is made by the faculty's Nominations and Elections Committee. Each candidate's Statement of Interest is linked to the candidate's name on the ballot.